We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Camino Lodge
Nearby Hotels
El Pueblo Lodge(Taos)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sagebrush Inn & Suites(Taos)(Great Value!)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Monte Sagrado(Taos)
$269
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel La Fonda de Taos(Taos)(Great Value!)
$159
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast(Taos)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Taos Inn(Taos)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
61
60
49
33
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
60
49
33
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunder new ownershipindoor pool and hot tubtwo queen bedsski arearooms are largenice staynew mexicocontractorsskiingratesfi
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 292 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My family (husband & I with our two small kids) love this place. We are locals and had recently needed to stay in town due to having work done on our rental. The staff is very friendly, their prices are very competitive, the rooms are clean...the queen rooms have micro-fridges and microwaves...all around a great value. We have stayed at other places in town and no other compares to the Whitten Inn. (Plus they have a great indoor heated pool and hot tub)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blissybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 17, 2017

I have just read your review and wanted to thank you for your kind words. I realize this review was from some time ago, but as we have just purchased the hotel, we are replying to all the reviews of the past and present as part of our transition plan. We are in the process of remodeling and updating the hotel both inside and out. As you live in the area, you may already be away of all the activity going on here. We've been in the hotel business for some time and have a lot of great ideas for this lovely old place. Perhaps, the next time you have guests, you will recommend us. Please stop by any time and let us know how we're doing. Again, thank you for your review, it is very important to us.

Sincerely,

Diane H.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

This place is oddly laid out - you had to go outside to access the office/computer/breakfast areas. Room was large and comfortable and a good value.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 17, 2017

I have just read your review and wanted to thank you. I realize you were here some time ago, but we have just recently purchased the hotel, we are replying to all the reviews of the past, as part of our transition plan. We are in the process of remodeling and updating the hotel both inside and out. It is an older hotel and needs a lot of TLC. We're very excited about the outcome, but we still have a long way to go. It is our hope, that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area. Again, thank you for your review, it has been very helpful to us.

Sincerely,

Diane H.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Overall the stay was OK for the price $59 plus tax in a very expensive Taos. Beds seemed a little uncomfortable. Overall the room was nice but the bathroom was in disrepair. The ceiling was falling in over the tub which makes you wonder about the overall maintenance and sanitation but given the prices and condition of some of the other local hotels this one is OK for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 17, 2017

I have just read your review and wanted to thank you. I realize you were here some time ago, but as we have just recently purchased the hotel we are replying to all the reviews of the past as part of our transition program. We are remodeling and updating the hotel both inside and out. All the carpet and furniture is being replaced along with a deep cleaning and fresh paint. We have been in then hotel business for some time now and have a good idea of what needs to be done to make this the place you want to return to. Hopefully, you will stay with us the next time you are in the area and let us know how we're doing. Again, thank you for your review, it has been very helpful to us.

Sincerely,

Diane H.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I will not stay here again. The staff is very young and extremely unprofessional. Even with my confirmation number they had difficulty finding my reservation. They allowed other clients to have a loud party in the parking lot and did nothing to ask them to keep it down. Other clients had a party on the balcony. There was no respect for the clients that were not members of the partying groups.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiexpo, Manager at El Camino Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

We had only recently taken over at that time, and we hope that you will give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I recently stayed at the Whitten Inn with a great friend. We were in room 220, and we had 2 queen-sized beds. The amenities of the Whitten are great - free Wi Fi, indoor hot tub, nice continental breakfast. There's nothing to complain about there.

When we opened the door, the place smelled a bit musty and sweaty. Perhaps the air was not sanitized enough, or the carpets and the linens. Perhaps the room was cleaned with dirty water, I don't know. The smell was off, and we kept the door open to freshen things up.

The shower curtain did not close all the way because the pole is on a downward angle. It is a big design flaw.

But most shockingly, the beds were a bit hard. Not altogether uncomfortable, though. While my friend did not get any bites, I woke up in the middle of the night scratching my back. Having had bad experiences with bedbugs in the past, I immediately recognized these marks as bedbug marks, and took the necessary precautions. I was sleeping in the right bed if you are in between the beds looking at the TV.

WARNING: if you are staying in room 220, avoid that bed or you will get bitten.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ughughCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittentaos, Manager at El Camino Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2010

Upon investigation of the alleged bedbugs, we found fleas in the room. As we are pet friendly, this is a rare possibility. We only regret that you did not alert the manager concerning your troubles. The situation could have been remedied immediately and easily. We are sending you a check in the amount of $25.00 for your inconvenience. A professional exterminator was contracted to treat the area. Our sincerest apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews