We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taos Quality Inn”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed August 7, 2007

This hotel was an overnight stay on a trip through Taos. It is a faded rose, an older hotel from the 70's. The carpet is a little worn and the concrete sidewalks around the outdoor pool should be resurfaced, but then you aren't paying for the Ritz. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was quiet (Saturday night stay), and the free hot breakfast was a breakfast buffet from 6-9 am. After that your choice is one of 4 pre-set options.
I think the buffet may be a Sunday morning thing. There were two Taos policemen and one Taos Pueblo policeman there for breakfast. That would indicate to me that it must be the best game in town for a Sunday breakfast...
Taos is a spendy town, if you just need a place to spend the night, this one works just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank deepwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 388 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2007

I am close to give up on this chain. I don’t know why the
Arizona and New Mexico properties of Choice are so substandard.
This is a non smoking property and all the carpets and some of the furniture had cigarette burns.
This property is good for large families as they would have a lot of room.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

We stayed in 4 hotels while in New Mexico, and this was the best. The lobby is very nice, however there can be a smokey odor if folks are in the lounge smoking.

Our room was very nice, very clean. Beds were comfortable, but wished the pillows could have been a bit more comfy. Room was large and the heat really worked very well! The vanity area is tiny, but it is separate from the tub/shower and toilet. Water pressure was fine. Most downstairs rooms have two doors, as did ours. One leads into the corridor, and our other one lead onto to grassy area/pool area. Very nice. That area did look lovely, but it was far too cold to enjoy any pool time.

The free breakfast was more than adequate, and a very nice touch. There is a choice of 4, and we found them to be filling. Waitstaff were friendly and efficient, but also busy. Breakfast was served quickly and served hot. Absolutely no complaints!

The hotel also serves lunch (buffet) and dinner. We did have the lunch buffet our first afternoon. It was okay, nothing really great. I would suggest going to one of the restaurants in the area instead.

Front desk staff were very helpful and efficient and informative.

For the price, I would recommend this property. Don't set expectations too high. This is a 2 or 3 star property, nothing more. If one is not looking for 5 star quality, but simply looking for a clean room with clean sheets and a hot shower with a good breakfast for a decent price while exploring Taos, this could be a good option.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chele60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

Stayed in late Aug 2006. Rooms are ok but the FREE full sit down breakfast is a joke. Short staffed waiting on tables with long wait and plenty of dirty tables. Guess you get what you pay for.

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank HDZCAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2006

The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The vanity was rather small, but it was separate from the shower/toilet area, which was nice.

The lobby area around the lounge smelled smoky, but our room did not smell smoky at all. I didn't go swimming, but the pool and spa looked clean and well-maintained.

I need to use a medical device at night, but there was not an outlet available close to the bed. I mentioned this to someone at the front desk, and within a few minutes, a friendly maintenance man appeared at my door with a long extension cord.

Breakfast was good! Nothing fancy, but it was hot and well-prepared.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rdiane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2006

While there was nothing terribly wrong with this place, it was the poorest stay (out of ten hotels) in an extended holiday. The lobby was pleasant enough and check-in was efficient but the room was small (by American standards) and generally worn and a bit tatty. The corridors didn't look very clean either.

The breakfast arrangement was unhelpful as you were required to choose from 4 set selections for some strange reason and the staff appeared uniformly miserable.

The hotel is wheelchair accessible.

Wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Axwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2006

To say the least, very disappointed... does not live up to the standards of most of the Quality Inns I've stayed in over the years in the Southwest. The lobby and restaurant areas were well maintained; however, i found that the rooms and other guests areas of this hotel lacked attention; in cleanliness, and/or in need of repair. Carpets were dirty. None of the soda/ water machines were working, nor was there a sign to let you know they were not working... the people at front desk were very aware of this situation. Bathrooms are badly in need of updating, the water pressure inadequate or sporadic. Admist all of this, i was also disappointed in the hotel personnel.. less than friendly, and not very helpful. Bottom line, it was not worth my money in staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mcwinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.1 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#4 of 15 in Taos
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
265 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1043 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5969
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $101 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn is your choice for a comfortable and affordable stay while visiting the beautiful sights and activities of Taos. With our large outdoor heated pool and hot tub, surrounded by a beautiful courtyard you will be able to relax and take in the view of the mountains while enjoying your complimentary and expansive hot, fresh and healthy breakfast. We take a lot of pride in this hotel and strive to provide the very best service and accommodations for our guests. We hope that you choose Quality Inn for your stay while visiting this wonderfully historic and artistic town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hotel Taos
Quality Inn Taos
Taos Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing