We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great location for walkers/friendly staff/comfy rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Hills Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Indian Hills Inn
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“great location for walkers/friendly staff/comfy rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Indian Hills Inn. Two people at the front desk, Daniel and Ginny, are uber friendly and really go out of their way to make sure you are happy, have everything you need and are looking for in Taos.I liked being able to walk to the plaza from the room and to some of the good shopping and dining close by. The room itself was comfy and clean. I had room 232 on the upper floor with a view of the mountains, and found it to be surprising quiet. I'm traveling on a budget so the good deal on the stay here was really appreciated.

Room Tip: upstairs on the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filmdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thanks so much for your hotel comments and specific team member comments! Without our people providing our Guests the experience desired, expected, and paid for, we'd be lost. Convenient location is our biggest claim to fame. Does it count if we;ve had Wide Spread Panic crew and groupies stay here? We accept your referrals! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    29
    19
    53
See reviews for
38
46
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lucca, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This place is cozy, clean and friendly. Conveniently located to anything you could possibly want or need, the Indian Hills Inn is definately where you want to stay. Biker friendly too!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xtratesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thanks for your comments on the hotel. Location, Location, Location is the 3 rules of real estate and our most common reason for folks selecting Indian Hills Inn, Taos Plaza. Send us your bike friends and fellow riders! Most bikes we've had at once was maybe 25 during the Memorial Day weekend Red River Run.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

I called first asking questions. The person answering the phone was very pleasant and knowledgeable. The environment was very laid back with a real local feel. The rooms were clean....continental breakfast....friendly service. My dogs were only a very small chrgs a night and had a huge area to safely play. We have made reservations for a whole week during ski season for a SWEET deal! Hope to see you in Taos this winter.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leona2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
What can we say other than thanks for your comments. The folks answering the phones have been with us almost 3 years which may be nearing a record for length of stay for hotel employees in Taos. We really work at being friendlier than most hotel front offices, this is your home while on the road and a friendly stop beats the dickens out of the ubber cold professional without any smiles, eye contact, etc. Ski you this winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here one night while we were traveling around the area. Before agreeing to stay at the motel we checked out one of the rooms and even though I was hesitant about staying at this motel, my daughter said it was fine for her, so we stayed.
It was a mistake.
While the room was "kind of ok" for the money spent, it was a little cool that night so we turned on the heater. Within about 30 minutes of turning on the heater, my daughter was completely stuffed up with a headache to boot. There was something in the wall heater unit which bothered me as well, although not as badly as my daughter.
I spend about 40 nights a year in hotels/motels and I have never experiened anything like this before. I do not know what was in the heater, however it ruined the rest of our trip for my daughter because of the unknown substance in the wall heater unit.

Room Tip: I would travel on to Santa Fe before I would stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sij01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Sorry that you did not report your problems during your stay. I talked with all the front desk team members and no one recalls anything untoward being reported. I also asked team members to investigate the HVAV in your room to identify any issues. What likely occurred is that the heat hadn't been used in several weeks or months and electric heat will sometimes give off some odor after no use. We were unable to detect anything out of the ordinary odor wise.

When we have other rooms, we'll move a Guest to help them enjoy their visit more. Most nights in April, we had availability.

Again, our apologies for your discomfort. Give us a try next time, we will make your stay more comfy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taos hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

My friends and I stayed here with one of my friend's dog. Great location, good value for the price. I wanted specifically to mention Sergio, one of the housekeeping staff. He went above and beyond to help us figure out when the Taos Pueblo would reopen after a 2 month closure to the public. I don't know why the inn has a policy of asking for housekeeping tips to be given first to the front desk staff. I can only hope the woman at the front desk passed on the monetary tip I earmarked for Sergio. Thank you, Sergio!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mele32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2015
Thanks for your review. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, oregon, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Wow. Great place to stay if you want to take in all the Plaza has to offer, it's walking distance from this hotel. We also skied @Sipapu and the Lift Ticket/Room combo deal was simply unbeatable! For a family of 4 skiing is quite expensive and this deal just made our trip! No

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aherrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

This place is a decent back up choice. The rooms were larger than expected, and the staff was friendly, but it isn't on the top of my recommendation list. As soon as I turned the TV off to get some sleep, it was immediately apparent that the walls are paper thin. I could literally hear every word coming from the TV to our left, and could understand full conversations of the guests on our right. Had I not been wiped out from the long drive, I probably wouldn't have been able to fall asleep. Which brings me to the ichy sheets. The beds, while comfortable and soft, were covered in very irritating sheets and pillows. My final small complaint isn't a huge deal, but the recent "renovations" look like a local guy who had some minor experience as a handy man around the house agreed to do a little work on the side for cheap.

All in all, the hotel isn't horrid and if other nicer hotels in the area are booked up, it is suitable. But for the Indian Inn charging the same amount as the nicer chains in the area, you might want to drive on past.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank statvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfslenes, Owner at Indian Hills Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Sorry your visit wasn't as good as either you or us would have liked. I don't know which room you were staying in but based upon many years of experience, noise management during construction is a challenge. We built 30 rooms about 15 years ago and asked the architect to go a couple levels higher in sound deadening than he originally planned. Unfortunately, it didn't work as well as we'd expected. We'll discuss linen quality with our HK team and endeavor to improve the next Guest's experience. As far as value, looks like you visited over a peak weekend. Most downtown properties were from $125 for singles and up while we were around $80-90. Email the hotel on your next visit to Taos, remind me of your Trip Advisor review, and we'll try to accommodate you more comfortbly. As a small independent, we rely on satisfying our Guests so we get repeat and referral business. Ski you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.7 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
1.3 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#10 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 17 in Taos
4.0 of 5 stars 951 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#15 of 17 in Taos
3.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Hills Inn

Property: Indian Hills Inn
Address: 233 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Indian Hills Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Indian Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Hills Hotel Taos Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing