We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“squalid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We've stayed at the Kachina Inn three times in the last 10 years. Every time we visit, the place seems more run down. This will be our last visit to kachina inn.

The red shag carpet floor was so dirty, it was black at the door. It must be 30 years old. I saw about 10 ants and a big beetle in our bathroom. The room smelled heavily of cleaning chemicals. The odor didn't fade with familiarity. I think the smell was covering the odor of fetid carpet. The sheets and towels are thread bare. The food is terrible and you have to really dig for southwestern charm at this sorely neglected facility. On the bright side, the woman that checked us in was efficient and friendly.

Go somewhere else if you can.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bokbokbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
There are newer reviews for Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 474 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2008

We just returned from a ski trip in Taos. This was our second stay at the Kachina Lodge and we had a wonderful stay. I love the spaciousness of the rooms. You get a free sit down full breakfast daily at the coffee shop, great french toast and pancakes with such friendly service from Ramona. In the evening after 5pm you get a free cocktail. After a full day of skiing we would relax in the jacuzzi. This is where we will definately stay the next time we're in Taos, what a great deal.....

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We just got back from a trip to Taos, New Mexico and stayed at the Best Western Kachina Lodge. I wanted to write a report on Trip Advisor and I was very surprised about the negative comments that BW Kachina Lodge had received.

It IS an older property built in the 1960's but had a LOT of charm and character. The rooms are very large and although not real fancy - very clean and comfortable. The staff was one of the friendliest that we experienced in the week we were on the road.

The complimentary full hot breakfast was excellent and the complimentary glass of wine in the evening was a treat.

Again, if you are in Taos, New Mexico, the Best Western Kachina Lodge was a very enjoyable place to stay. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lovedtaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Hadn't been in Taos in years. It has really changed but hotel hasn't. I liked the large room and breakfast was the best. The hotel is old though and my husband did not think it was very clean. I was just happy to be in Taos but he was right. We enjoyed the Indian dancing nightly at the hotel. For a trip down memory lane- it is worth a shot!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyingredhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

This resort-type hotel was built in the 60's, and no expense was spared. The decor in the main building and around the grounds is lovely. The rooms are large and well laid out. The sections of hotel wrap around a pool area and look out on a grassy area with a large circle where guests can sit in the evening and watch Taos Indians dance by the fire.

We don't often eat at hotel restaurants but decided not to leave the site, so we gave it a try. This one served a wide variety of meals at reasonable prices.

One complimentary glass of wine per person in the lounge was included, as was a hot breakfast buffet.

The concierge is very helpful. The Kachina Lodge is conveniently located near the plaza, Kit Carson's grave, and Taos Pueblo. They have a shuttle that runs on demand to the pueblo or to the plaza. The price for all of this was a bargain, too!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank retiredandlovingit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

This is not a Best Western, but a Worst Western. I spent 3 nights and checked out 2 days earlier than scheduled. There is nothing good about this place, other than a convenient location near downtown Taos and a park like near the open air pool. The entire complex is very old, plagued with deferred maintenance and should be torne down. Food (breakfast) is generally cold and served without any appeal, service is OK, and I found the area not clean. Do not expect the WIFI to work, and good luck using the prehistoric computer in the lobby. The window screens were missing and both front windows would not open or close using their handle. Oh, I almost forgot to mention that we had no hot water for 24hrs and I am still awaiting for the manager to call me back. AVOID THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NewUlysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Bed Bugs, Dirty, Shabby and Discusting! This Motel is the worst.
It is terrible! I can't believe this Hotel is still under Best Western. Where are the standards? Don't stay at this Motel it is gross!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank secretv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
381 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Address: 413 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5907
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $74 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing