We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great potential”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The room was HUGE! Our area was part of a suite so we only shared the end with one other couple. I guess the dancers were finished by the time we arrived, because I didn't see them and would have enjoyed that. The gallery is wonderful off the lobby. The complimentary breakfast is served in the diner which was reminiscent of my childhood travels with my dad. The pool looked inviting. If we had stayed longer we probably would have asked about building a fire in the fire pit. Old TVs and interior, but it felt like home. Within a good walk of shops, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livelikethelocals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    88
    73
    97
    118
See reviews for
117
156
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Kachina Lodge is a great place at a great price. The front desk is friendly and the rooms are adequate. We have stayed there 4 times now and have found a favorite room we will ask for in the future. The grounds are beautiful and quiet and we had a short walk to the plaza area. We prefer to stay in places with retro charm. This pueblo revival 60's hotel is moving in the right direction with plans for preserving this Taos jewel. We have stayed many places in Taos, and this is our favorite.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room because people have different opinions on what they like in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

An old style resort with lots of charm. The staff are locals very friendly and helpful plus fluent on the regions happenings. A pool and Entertainment w/ the Taos Indian Pueblo Dancers nightly, also a large court yard. The restaurant and complimentary breakfast should not be missed. They accept pets for a $20 fee but double check. It is not a prefabed modern Disneyland/Vegas style resort...giving everyone a sense of entitlement that we see nowadays. It's quiet with character and respect with a step back in time feel. Enjoy !!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ngc1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Having stayed at the Kachina Lodge several years ago, I was disappointed in the condition of the facility! The possibility of a wonderful lodge is there, just needs the time and effort. A few suggestions: 1. PLEASE repair the balconies in the buildings that have second stories! (and thanks for the tip of not closing the balcony door behind us....NO KEYS EXIST....we were warned!) We were in two different rooms and noticed exposed wiring along the vent work in the bathroom....seems dangerous if one were to be travelling with children. 2. PLEASE empty the trash receptacles on the stairwells....the one by our room was overflowing with the same trash the entire time we were there! 3. Please have your staff dress in some sort of uniform....an inexpensive t-shirt with the logo and khakis.....would make them look professional, well-groomed and CLEAN. 4. The staff at the so-called breakfast were inattentive and complaining loudly about their jobs. There was NO coffee and the room was not tended to....we and others went elsewhere.

That said, the front desk staff was friendly! Without the ladies there, this rating would be ONE star.

Room Tip: The noise came from a party in the event center and a group near the pool. They were having fun and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taos hotels

Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Checked in tonight, I was told some of the rooms have irons and some don't. She said she didn't have a way to tell if my room would have one but if it didn't I can call down in morning and they will try to find me one. Grounds are pretty, rooms leave a lot to be desired. I feel like the person above me is going to come through the ceiling any minute. No soap in shower, unless you consider the truck stop three in one soap, lotion, conditioner dispenser safe to use. Liquid "soap" resembles dish soap.
French fry in floor heating register gives the fresh cooked food smell.
Consider other options

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank casinoroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Once again the Kachina Lodge has made our stay in Taos excellent. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the Lodge has a charm that can't be matched. The indian dancers each evening are entertaining and the perfect beginng to a quiet and relaxing evening. We enjoyed the pool and the hot breakfast was great! We always feel special when we visit and will definitely go again. Thank you Kachina Lodge.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Having stayed across the street at El Pueblo the previous night, the comparison between it and Kachina was like day and night, with El Pueblo just being a far better experience. Our room at the Kachina was clean and functional, but that's about it. It would probably have been better had we not stayed at El Pueblo the previous night. The room at the Kachina was very dated, had an old style TV with a bad picture, and only regular cable, vs the flat screen and satellite TV at El Pueblo. The style of the room, furnishings, bathroom and pretty much everything, down to the soaps provided, were lacking compared with El Pueblo. Our bed at the Kachina had a somewhat old and "dirty" (grungy) looking bedspread, with just a sheet underneath, while our bed at El Pueblo had a very nice, thick duvet that was super comfy (and clean!!!). El Pueblo had a better breakfast with plenty of seating, both inside and also an outdoor patio. The poor ladies at the desk at the Kachina seemed stressed, despite only having us standing there waiting and a phone call to deal with. The Kachina had been fully booked the previous night, so there were not enough clean towels for the rooms the night we stayed, which is unacceptable. The Kachina also cost more than our night at El Pueblo. Overall the room at the Kachina was only satisfactory - about what you'd expect from a budget motel, but it is not priced or advertised as such!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryE63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Property: Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Address: 413 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5907
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing