We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pretty run down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Clyde, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pretty run down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Worn out and neglected but our king-sized bed was comfortable and clean. The red shag carpet was frayed and bathroom corners were black with mildew but the shower worked fine.
Big window and Convenient location to downtown. The staff is friendly and breakfast of choice is free in the Kiva Coffee shop.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ppoupore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl w, General Manager at Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your visit. This Hotel is the Taos Indian Motif Style and very unique as one-of-a-kind. To get to this stage it has to be well used since it was built in the 1960's. We appreciate your comments however, we've elected to retain its infra-structure and maintain it's outstanding native motif to provide an unusual experience by our visiting guests.

We've noted the frayed carpet and will make corrections without delay.

Please visit us again and enjoy the Northern New Mexico Indian Pueblo culture along with the Rio Grande River Gorge and the many Art Galleries & Shops.

General Manager and Owner with Wife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    82
    70
    95
    113
See reviews for
111
147
30
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Huge complex of utterly average quality. Got a splendid deal and the included breakfast was fine, not special but okay. However, room was sub par at best with a flying ant infestation, old nasty carpet, and stained comforter. Sheets and pillows fine. Can hear neighbors both up and sides, so hope you have quiet ones. There was one ice machine working but just couldn't trust it for drinking items. The cafe is pretty cool, but that was it for us. When we told them about the ants, the clerk couldn't have cared less.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Big_Sky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl w, Owner at Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We heard your comments loud and clear and held a staff meeting for corrections.

We always call our guest within fifteen minutes after check-in to assure that they are satisfied.

I wish you would have called our front desk so your issues could have been quickly resolved.

Please visit us again to experience our improvements. You'll love your stay!

General Manager and Owner with Wife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taos hotels

austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We checked in...all looked ok... It is a tired looking place, not fancy but we don't require fancy. Just clean....but we didn't even get that!
Went to take a shower at 10pm only to find the tub faucet broken. It was just stuck and no water was going to come out of it! ( how did they clean it from last guest?? )
I called the front desk and was told there were no other non smoking rooms to move us to, but we could go shower in a smoking room down stairs at the end of the building, which we did since we were tired and needed a shower.
Then we tried to use the toilet in our room and the toilet was plugged up, nearly overflowing. GROSS!! No plunger and no maintance man on duty at 10pm

Then when I turned the bedding back there was long hair on the pillows , PUBIC HAIR in a few spots on the sheets and black fuzzy stuff all along the foot of the bed from someone's socks! GROSS Again!! The bed had NOT been made from the last person there, you could still see indents in the sheets where they laid. That was the final straw!
Three strikes you're OUT!! We packed our luggage and went back to the desk to tell them we weren't staying and wanted a refund. The front desk gal Charlotte S. was not happy about my complaining and acted like it was MY fault that I wanted to leave at 10pm. She even ran outside to our car to take the towel off my friends head (she had just taken a shower in the smoking room downstairs and it was cold walking back to our room with a wet head )
This place is a joke! Yes, it's cheap, poorly staffed and someplace to avoid. Shame on YOU Kachina Lodge for thinking that just because your address is in "TAOS" you can get away with lousy service and screw people out of their money. Get a grip and CLEAN UP YOUR ACT!! I'd like to see the manager sleep in that bed and have to shower in a different room and crap in a toilet that won't flush!!
Not good PR from the town of TAOS at all....Such a disapointment.!
PS.. this is the first time in years I've come across this situation and I'm pretty easy to please when it comes to lodging but this was totally unacceptable.!

Room Tip: AVOID this hotel...the Inspectors need to visit them, it's just filthy! Room 226 at the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank austx05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl w, Owner at Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We've heard your comments and wish you would have requested and visited the General Manager before you departed. Your experience here is a sad story to the General Manager and the Owners.

We're making corrections by adjusting and training staff to call guests, shortly after check-in to resolve negative issues, if any.

Please visit us again to experience the big change. Thanks

General Manager and Owner with Wife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My kids and I had high hopes for this hotel. The rooms were dirty. The hot tub was worse than dirty with dead flies bubbling up into the water. The ice maker (1 of 5 is working) was close to impossible to find as the property maps are years out of date. The lampshades had holes in them. One of the lamps didn't work at all. There was a dead knat on our bathroom counter that housekeeping didn't clean up for 2 days. The breakfast was a joke, cook was late every day. We missed the ski shuttle one day because the breakfast wasn't ready at all. The poor waitress had to cook and wait on 12-15 people all by herself. The hotel staff is nice enough but there is absolutely no attention to detail here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heater70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl w, Owner at Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for your comments. We heard you loud and clear. Therefore, we have dismissed the sleepy cook and developed and started a housekeeping training program which includes inspection of each room for quality and complete preparation after each guest room maid.

We can't have issues you experienced to exist for our present and future guests.

Thanks! We'll guarantee your satisfaction, if you come back.

General Manager & Owner with Wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Kachina has seen better days and is in dire need of a total overhaul. Our room was dark, carpet needed replacing, tub was horribly stained, windows leaked, no coffeemaker or amenities, an old tube tv with limited channels, room wasn't cleaned for 3 days, felt it was dirty and couldn't wait to get out every day.
There was no fitness center and no room service. Same CDs played loud every day in breakfast room and lobby.
Restaurant and lounge closed "indefinitely", breakfast had no fruit and always out of something. Very, very limited staff who did a good job of trying to provide service. Overall, a very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel was built in 1960 so is a bit tired around the edges but it has a lovely SW vibe from the architecture and furnishings and makes a refreshing change from the usual chains we stay in on our travels. Our room was the cheapest in Taos but we were very happy with our room and hot cooked breakfast with a lovely cup of coffee. The bed was very comfortable, there were lots of fluffy towels and the room was very clean. No coffee making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Room near the main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minnes0taman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This motel is on the old side and could certainly use a good deep cleaning/update inside and out, but for the price it is more than fine for an overnight (or two)stay. We were there for an overnight. The bedding was clean and comfortable, it was quiet and woman at check in was friendly. They offer free full breakfast in their cafe which is nice but vegetarians beware!: the red chile has meat in it. Don't know about the green as they were out of it - a cardinal sin for a New Mexican eatery!

Room Tip: As all the rooms are set back, I would imagine they are all pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YOY808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 17 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Property: Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Address: 413 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5907
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing