We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My family traveled to Taos at Christmastime, a community we know and love, after an absence of 10 years. The only disappointment and ongoing irritation has been our experience at the Kachina Lodge. We stayed there for 2 nights; the place was run down and the corridors were filthy. The housekeeper never appeared during our stay there. Our beds went unmade, fresh towels arrived after 6 p.m.(after a request to the front desk), and the breakfast was mediocre- all for $180/night!
It took me days of calling to make contact with the owner, all the while listening to outlandish excuses from staff for the delay. The owner offered us a credit of $90, to which we agreed. Reviewing our records, we realize now that this credit was never received.
I spent the last couple of days trying to reach the owner, Mr. Koop, but to no avail. I am told that he is in frequent meetings with housekeepers; an irony only a former guest of Kachina Lodge can fully understand.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carol B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 473 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you have ever been to Taos, you would know there are not many places to choose from. This place was chosen by our annual ski trip planning committee, as this was a ski trip for my boyfriend's birthday. We were very pleasantly surprised! It was very spacious. The staff were friendly and accomidating. Group rate discounts were impressive.

After discussing with the manager our desire for an upscsale restaurant, she promply called the owner of a wonderful Bistro downtown and reserved a table for us! This was the best part of our stay, and we felt she delivered on the customer service aspect!

The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty to choose from. Far better than most complimentary breakfasts.

The only downside was the hot tub was closed the second night we were there. After a long day on the slopes, it was a dissapointment.

Overall, we were very satisfied. If you are not staying at the base of the ski valley, this is the best place in town. I will definitely choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stayed upstairs in the furthest building from the main office. Very quiet!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Prior to booking I read many reviews. Most cons with a smattering of pros. However we decided to give them a try. Our experience was very good. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to make our 1 night stay memorable. We were celebrating the holidays with 2 other couples. Overall, the hotel is a bit dated, could use some TLC, but was clean and comfortable. Our casita room was spacious. Since it was December, the hot water was hot coming out of the tap. No need to run to heat. The architecture is typical of an adobe taos guest lodge, equipped with local style furniture. One would think they are in a gallery as they walk through the lobby since many local artists have displayed their artwork on the walls. I recommend that guests view the painting above the Navajo fireplace. Absolutely awesome. The owner, Mr. Koop, agreed to let us set up our board game in the Navajo banquet room, and even built a fire in the fireplace for us. We ordered dinner which was brought to us in the banquet room as well. Dinner nor breakfast was special, but the food was tasty. The restaurant was a picture out of a Route 66 diner however decorated in true native american totem pole fashion. There is a lot of local Taos flavor to this lodge. An original Remington statute is displayed in the parking lot. You have to see it to believe it!!!!

Room Tip: Try the casitas. No one above or below.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 142Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

No customer service.

We decided to try this hotel as it was claimed to be very rustic. To our surprise rustic was not even in the same ball park.

When we initially called the property we were in the process of making our reservation and in the middle of that call we were told that there was only one room left. Interestingly enough we were put on hold and mysteriously another room became available.

It was a smoking king room so it was only $85.00 for the night. So we booked it as it was a holiday evening and weather coming in as well.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a young girl whom check us in and told us that we were "lucky" that we got a room and that was the last one they had.

So she handed us our room keys and we went to our room. As expected they keys didn't work so we had to go back to front desk and the same young girl said let me try coding the keys again. "I hope it works" because the person who would be able to fix lock if it didn't was off.

Yet again she said, this is our last room so if it doesn't work I have nothing to offer.

With some luck on our side the keys worked. So we unloaded our luggage and was going to get ready for our dinner and when we went into bathroom we discovered what would be called a serious insect problem. There were ants along the entire side of the tub and better yet we had some spiders to have to deal with as well.

Of course the young girl at front desk didn't do anything to address the situation.

The next morning we check out and inform the morning front desk of the various issues, she indicated to me that the night girl was new and that she could have upgraded us a deluxe room.

No concession was made to accommodate us. It has thank you for your money and move on.


  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CLS_Client_Services
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I'm perplexed by some of the other reviews calling the rooms spacious, etc. We were in a room with a single queen bed and the room was cozy at best. The furniture was chintzy and old and not that clean--sticky food spots on the nightstands? Gross! It was shabby and very loud. We were on the first floor in one of the back buildings. Water running in other rooms sounded like it was in our own, as did every other conversation.

Room Tip: Try the el pueblo lodge across the street. We'd have stayed there as we usually do but it was f...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andafiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent three nights at Kachina Taos and it was one of the highlights of our recent monthlong roadtrip through the southwest. Our room was clean, quiet, and spacious, the grounds are lovely, breakfast in the funky Kiva Cafe hit the spot (try the Spanish omelet) and the location couldn't be better -- easy walk to the Plaza and the Taos Pueblo is just up the road. The whole place could use some updating and a lot of TLC but we hope the vintage feel and unique architectural style will always be preserved (Best Western you were crazy to let go of this property and even crazier to suggest changing the design and decor - it's priceless Americana). All the staff people were friendly and ready to help with any request (including faxing rental car paperwork no charge). If you need perfection, don't check in but if you want a place with personality and real hospitality the Kachina Lodge is where you want to stay in Taos.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PocotopaugJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Rooms were clean, super thoughtful staff. The food was delightful and the bar patio had music. the hotel has alot of Northern NM charm. Our trip was very relaxing and we plan to visit again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
381 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Address: 413 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5907
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $74 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing