We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed January 1, 2013

No customer service.

We decided to try this hotel as it was claimed to be very rustic. To our surprise rustic was not even in the same ball park.

When we initially called the property we were in the process of making our reservation and in the middle of that call we were told that there was only one room left. Interestingly enough we were put on hold and mysteriously another room became available.

It was a smoking king room so it was only $85.00 for the night. So we booked it as it was a holiday evening and weather coming in as well.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a young girl whom check us in and told us that we were "lucky" that we got a room and that was the last one they had.

So she handed us our room keys and we went to our room. As expected they keys didn't work so we had to go back to front desk and the same young girl said let me try coding the keys again. "I hope it works" because the person who would be able to fix lock if it didn't was off.

Yet again she said, this is our last room so if it doesn't work I have nothing to offer.

With some luck on our side the keys worked. So we unloaded our luggage and was going to get ready for our dinner and when we went into bathroom we discovered what would be called a serious insect problem. There were ants along the entire side of the tub and better yet we had some spiders to have to deal with as well.

Of course the young girl at front desk didn't do anything to address the situation.

The next morning we check out and inform the morning front desk of the various issues, she indicated to me that the night girl was new and that she could have upgraded us a deluxe room.

No concession was made to accommodate us. It has thank you for your money and move on.


  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CLS_Client_Services
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 478 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

I'm perplexed by some of the other reviews calling the rooms spacious, etc. We were in a room with a single queen bed and the room was cozy at best. The furniture was chintzy and old and not that clean--sticky food spots on the nightstands? Gross! It was shabby and very loud. We were on the first floor in one of the back buildings. Water running in other rooms sounded like it was in our own, as did every other conversation.

Room Tip: Try the el pueblo lodge across the street. We'd have stayed there as we usually do but it was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andafiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent three nights at Kachina Taos and it was one of the highlights of our recent monthlong roadtrip through the southwest. Our room was clean, quiet, and spacious, the grounds are lovely, breakfast in the funky Kiva Cafe hit the spot (try the Spanish omelet) and the location couldn't be better -- easy walk to the Plaza and the Taos Pueblo is just up the road. The whole place could use some updating and a lot of TLC but we hope the vintage feel and unique architectural style will always be preserved (Best Western you were crazy to let go of this property and even crazier to suggest changing the design and decor - it's priceless Americana). All the staff people were friendly and ready to help with any request (including faxing rental car paperwork no charge). If you need perfection, don't check in but if you want a place with personality and real hospitality the Kachina Lodge is where you want to stay in Taos.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PocotopaugJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Rooms were clean, super thoughtful staff. The food was delightful and the bar patio had music. the hotel has alot of Northern NM charm. Our trip was very relaxing and we plan to visit again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I just returned after a week vacationing in New Mexico, and the best part of the trip was the three nights we spent at the Kachina Lodge in Taos. Our room was large, clean and quiet. The restaurant and café were a delight. The art gallery was fascinating. We walked a few blocks to the center of town every day, and drove a couple of miles to Taos Pueblo. We are already making plans to go back next year. The Kachina Lodge is our new home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Of course it is old and funky. That is its charm. It has spacious rooms and even more spacious, beautiful grounds. A 9 foot tall Remington statue out front, worth seeing. A full breakfast included
although the dining room closes early there is an excellent restaurant "The Dragonfly" across the street. Just a mile walk into the main square makes it very convenient for tourists.

Room Tip: All rooms are well away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our photo club stayed here 1 night to explore the Taos area. The rooms were large enough but old and tired. Some in the group said their rooms were not that clean. Ours was okay for the one night. We had an included dinner that was served buffet style. The steak and trout were prepared on an outside grill and were better than expected. We also had a choice of complimentary beer, wine or margarita -- but we had to wait 15 minutes to get our selection. After dinner, there was a performance for all guests by a Native American family. Nicely done. Breakfast -- well, it took forever for the staff to bring in the coffee and condiments. Nothing special there. I must commend the front desk for accommodating our group in the morning. Our bus would not start and we were scheduled to visit the Taos Pueblo at 8am. Their shuttle starts running at 8am and the driver took us in 4 trips to the Pueblo. We started our tour a little late but we didn't have to lose our money or time there. They also allowed us to keep our luggage in our rooms and would give us a later checkout if we needed it (which we didn't). Fortunately, our stay was only for 1 night and we were headed back to the wonderful Embassy Suites in Albuquerque.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,197 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Address: 413 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5907
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $71 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing