We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived with some friends last night and our friends were denied a room due to overbooking from other Expedia customers. My friends booked directly via telephone, but it took nearly 30 minutes just to register at the hotel. Very strange experience. My friends had to switch rooms for night night two which meant they were marooned for several hours in the middle of the day and got sunburned and wind burned out by the pool. Our room was OK. Nothing special. Could not close the bathroom door completely. Pretty noisy outside of our room at night with big diesel trucks passing by in the parking lot. Beds were pretty stiff, difficult to sleep on. Pillows not easy to sleep with - no variety to adjust. Rooms smell strange like a laundry facility. Shades on lamps were torn up. Old school Cathode Ray Tube TV's. Didn't even bother to turn it on. Breakfast was a surreal experience as we were battling for position in a buffet line with a room full of senior citizens -- obviously they got a group rate. The main dining area was 1960's Route 66 "Kitch" for decor. The tables were filthy. For breakfast they served rubberized scrambled eggs with grease sausage -- I'm not kidding. Not really very close the plaza, you have to walk nearly a mile to get to the plaza. Advertised Indian dances at 7:00pm every night, but the Indians never showed up. Very strange experience. I won't be back. Surely there are some better places to stay. Perhaps it's better to just spend time in Santa Fe and come up here on day trips only.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms at this hotel. All of the rooms are in severe need of up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MeanDanSiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 478 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived early and were told our room wouldn't be ready until 3 pm. We wandered around Taos for several hours and returned to the hotel at 3:15 pm. We were then told that the king room we reserved was unavailable, but we could have 2 queens for no additional charge. LOL. 2 people, 2 queens. What a deal. Pretty much everyone we spoke with was rude. The entire hotel was in a state of disrepair. We decided to cut our stay short and were told there would be a 15% penalty. We have stayed here previously, but never again. Caveat emptor!

Room Tip: Go anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

he lodge is actually nice. Good location easy walking distance to the plaza and parks. Room was large and bed comfortable. Only problem was with the plumbing....it broke the 2nd day and they fixed it (we thought) however when we woke up in the morning the floor in the bathroom was flooded and there was brackish water in the tub. Called the front desk and they said maintenance would not be in for another hour....not what you want to hear first thing in the morning. Not sure that I would come back there are better places at the same or lower price in Taos. The hot breakfast is a joke

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darlene665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We've stayed at Kachina in the past, when it was a Best Western, and were very pleased. But, the last time was 4 years ago. This trip, they are no longer a BW, and it's pretty obvious why. The whole place is shabby and run down.

It took 4 calls to the front desk and 2 trips to the office to get a bar of soap in the room (the next day). Never did get soap for night #1. Probably a good thing, as in the morning when trying to shower, the shower handle came off in my hand. After the front desk sent the maintenance guy to the wrong room TWICE, it finally got repaired.

Also, I would really think that with cleaning staff walking the hall every day to straighten the rooms, at least one of them would have taken the time to clear all the nasty cobwebs and dirt from the hall windows. Just plain gross.

If it was a $29 a night room, maybe I'd consider it. For what they're charging, they should be ashamed.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank subdude17349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Been to the Kachina before, and yes it is headed downhill. To borrow a phrase from John McCain, the place has decent fundamentals, yet if something pretty drastic doesn't take place soon, this place will most decidedly be a second or third tier establishment.

Yes there was the indifferent, somewhat matronly desk clerk whose diffident manner didn't augur well.

And then there were the changes of room where it was obvious no one was keeping track of which rooms were ready to be occupied and which weren't.

I could go on, and on, yet I would provide some tips in the event you roll the dice on staying because the prices are reasonable:
If something about the Lodge surprises you, pushback against any offhand matter-of-fact attitude adopted by the hotel staff. Request a better room or a discount, or that you will leave.

I believe the owners of the hotel are getting on in years, They have to be told that people will not tolerate any further downslides in the quality and service. The place is like a woman whose looks are 15 years south of their high plateau, yet they continue to try to trade on their looks. In this case Kachina trades on its rustic funky ties to an earlier time. They have got to SHAPE UP!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MomoBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Some of these Kachina reviews sound as if they were written by disgruntled former employees.

My wife and I just got back after 4 days in Taos, where we stayed at the Kachina Lodge. The Kachina is not just another cookie cutter, generic, off-ramp motel. It is a charming, historic, unique establishment.

In many motels when you go outside you’re in the parking lot. Walking around outside at the Kachina is like walking around in art. The buildings are beautiful Spanish style adobe surrounding an acre-size grassy courtyard. At dusk guests are invited, at no cost, to bring their cameras and sit around a bonfire as Native Americans from the nearby Taos Pueblo dance and educate visitors about their history.

About three blocks from the Kachina is Taos Plaza which includes an assortment of restaurants, boutiques and art galleries.

Our room, number 128, was big, clean and quiet, with western furnishings and Charles Collins prints on the walls. Everything worked and if I could think of something to complain about I would but… we didn’t want to leave.

Room Tip: The building in the back is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had stayed here when it was a Best Western. My how times change. When we arrived they had our reservation wrong. Took forever to get it corrected with an unconcerned desk clerk. The room was dark and dingy, mold in the tub caulking joint, the security chain was broken, AC noisy, and the floor next to the bed had several pop-tops on it. Outside of the room the deck chair was broken, ice machine required a thump to get it started, and the handle came off of the sink in the lobby restroom. Free breakfast the first day was a really good western omelet cooked to order. Day 2 was a disaster. The waitress spilled coffee on my wife's chair before she sat down and made no effort to change chairs or dry it. Breakfast was left over from a bus group, no option to order off the menu. Dried out scrambled eggs. Yuck. There are too many good motels in Taos to waste our money at the Kachina again. As I was checking out, the Coke man came in and told the owner they had been changed to CASH only on delivery. Not a good sign.
On a good note, the Pueblo dancers were very good and worth a donation.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nanookdalla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,198 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Address: 413 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5907
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $71 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing