We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plumbing problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plumbing problems”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

he lodge is actually nice. Good location easy walking distance to the plaza and parks. Room was large and bed comfortable. Only problem was with the plumbing....it broke the 2nd day and they fixed it (we thought) however when we woke up in the morning the floor in the bathroom was flooded and there was brackish water in the tub. Called the front desk and they said maintenance would not be in for another hour....not what you want to hear first thing in the morning. Not sure that I would come back there are better places at the same or lower price in Taos. The hot breakfast is a joke

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darlene665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    88
    73
    97
    118
See reviews for
117
156
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Freedom, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We've stayed at Kachina in the past, when it was a Best Western, and were very pleased. But, the last time was 4 years ago. This trip, they are no longer a BW, and it's pretty obvious why. The whole place is shabby and run down.

It took 4 calls to the front desk and 2 trips to the office to get a bar of soap in the room (the next day). Never did get soap for night #1. Probably a good thing, as in the morning when trying to shower, the shower handle came off in my hand. After the front desk sent the maintenance guy to the wrong room TWICE, it finally got repaired.

Also, I would really think that with cleaning staff walking the hall every day to straighten the rooms, at least one of them would have taken the time to clear all the nasty cobwebs and dirt from the hall windows. Just plain gross.

If it was a $29 a night room, maybe I'd consider it. For what they're charging, they should be ashamed.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank subdude17349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taos hotels

Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Been to the Kachina before, and yes it is headed downhill. To borrow a phrase from John McCain, the place has decent fundamentals, yet if something pretty drastic doesn't take place soon, this place will most decidedly be a second or third tier establishment.

Yes there was the indifferent, somewhat matronly desk clerk whose diffident manner didn't augur well.

And then there were the changes of room where it was obvious no one was keeping track of which rooms were ready to be occupied and which weren't.

I could go on, and on, yet I would provide some tips in the event you roll the dice on staying because the prices are reasonable:
If something about the Lodge surprises you, pushback against any offhand matter-of-fact attitude adopted by the hotel staff. Request a better room or a discount, or that you will leave.

I believe the owners of the hotel are getting on in years, They have to be told that people will not tolerate any further downslides in the quality and service. The place is like a woman whose looks are 15 years south of their high plateau, yet they continue to try to trade on their looks. In this case Kachina trades on its rustic funky ties to an earlier time. They have got to SHAPE UP!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MomoBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Some of these Kachina reviews sound as if they were written by disgruntled former employees.

My wife and I just got back after 4 days in Taos, where we stayed at the Kachina Lodge. The Kachina is not just another cookie cutter, generic, off-ramp motel. It is a charming, historic, unique establishment.

In many motels when you go outside you’re in the parking lot. Walking around outside at the Kachina is like walking around in art. The buildings are beautiful Spanish style adobe surrounding an acre-size grassy courtyard. At dusk guests are invited, at no cost, to bring their cameras and sit around a bonfire as Native Americans from the nearby Taos Pueblo dance and educate visitors about their history.

About three blocks from the Kachina is Taos Plaza which includes an assortment of restaurants, boutiques and art galleries.

Our room, number 128, was big, clean and quiet, with western furnishings and Charles Collins prints on the walls. Everything worked and if I could think of something to complain about I would but… we didn’t want to leave.

Room Tip: The building in the back is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had stayed here when it was a Best Western. My how times change. When we arrived they had our reservation wrong. Took forever to get it corrected with an unconcerned desk clerk. The room was dark and dingy, mold in the tub caulking joint, the security chain was broken, AC noisy, and the floor next to the bed had several pop-tops on it. Outside of the room the deck chair was broken, ice machine required a thump to get it started, and the handle came off of the sink in the lobby restroom. Free breakfast the first day was a really good western omelet cooked to order. Day 2 was a disaster. The waitress spilled coffee on my wife's chair before she sat down and made no effort to change chairs or dry it. Breakfast was left over from a bus group, no option to order off the menu. Dried out scrambled eggs. Yuck. There are too many good motels in Taos to waste our money at the Kachina again. As I was checking out, the Coke man came in and told the owner they had been changed to CASH only on delivery. Not a good sign.
On a good note, the Pueblo dancers were very good and worth a donation.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nanookdalla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Cheapo depot! Carpet filthy, sheet doesn't fit, lamp broken, furnishings worn. If we had arrived earlier in the day, would have left. Don't bother! No wonder it is no longer a Best Western facility. Probably won't eat the complimentary breakfast.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rothmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

On a recent trip to Taos, NM, we chose a hotel with local charm instead of the generic motels we find in every city. The Kachina Lodge sounded quaint, so we booked a room for three nights. We liked the look as we drove into the parking lot because the Lodge oozes Taos Indian mystique. The lobby and adjacent restaurant are filled with Indian interior design, Kachinas, and stunning southwest style paintings, many for sale by local artists. We liked that it is located two blocks from the Pueblo Indian Village and three blocks from the Plaza, where all the museums, restaurants, bars and galleries are. Don't expect the sterilized tedium of a motel 6 or Marriott, and don't expect to find CNBC, Fox Business or Bloomberg on the room's standard TV. We enjoyed the Pueblo Indian dances, a featured daily evening occurrence, and the free breakfast got us off to a good start each morning. The rear courtyard pool is new and gorgeous!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Property: Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Address: 413 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5907
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing