We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for the taos maratho.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This place was so cool, and kitchy. It has a real "motherroad" feel to it. There is Native American dancing every night, and it,s within a nice walk to the historic shopping area.

Room Tip: If you go to be early, ask for a room facing away from the nightly drum dance.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistyp1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 472 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

This place needs updating badly!!! The room was dirty (dirt, grime, dead bugs in windowsill), there was a horrible sewer-like smell, there was mold on the tile grout and the shower had very little water pressure. The dining room was not much better. Dishes and silverware were dirty, there was dirt + bugs on the windowsills and the "free breakfast" only included eggs and toast--one had to pay extra for juice and other items. We actually cut our stay short one day because we couldn't stand the smell anymore and the hotel refused to refund our money. I definitely would not recommend this place.l

Since I always try to find something positive to day, it did have a nice pool area, the staff was fairly friendly and it had a historic feel to it. (Although historic should not mean of a lower standard!) In hindsight I guess we should have realized that the price was too good to be true!!! I recommend spending a little more money to stay at a nicer place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you want to really experience history and a sense of place then you need to stay at Kachina Lodge- When you drive up to the hotel an original Frederic Remington Sculpture greets visitors- that alone is worth the stay! The lodge itself was designed and built in the 1960s with attention to architectural design and features that are priceless today. The staff is warm and friendly and each evening a family from the Taos Pueblo performs in a large, round dance circle in the middle of the property which is the only place in Taos that offers this special performance. Priceless art decorates the corridors and halls- the buildings themselves reflect and pay tribute to the Pueblo natives. Our sense was that even the community of Taos doesn't recognize this remarkable piece of architecture and history. A real gem!

Room Tip: There is not a fitness center but there is a large swimming pool and hot tub
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nstheiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Needs updating bad. The building had plumbing problems. Rooms in that building had problems with drains(toilets, tubs, and sinks). Next morning asked to change rooms. They claimed non were clean. Place wasn't half full. Had to stow all my belongings in my car till the afternoon for a new room. Wax was found all over iron. Ski season been closed for a while. Breakfast was marginal at best. Manager gave me a hard time about booking through a travel website when I checked in. That is probably why my room wasn't as nice as the other people I was traveling with. Not that there were nice rooms. I paid the same. Great location. Walking distance to downtyown. Any complaints made to staff is ignored. It is obvious they don't care. From the attire to the attitudes. They say all the right things but nothing gets done. I stay in a hotel 2 to 3 times a week across the country. This hotel rates right at the bottom.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AV8TRX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed here many times in the past during biker rally week, was not great but ok, used to be full w/ bikers every year, property has lost more visitors each year for the last 3 yrs. Last yr, not even 1/2 full & we realized why. We said, "never again". I am surprised they retain the "Best Western" endorsement. Worn, shoddy, out-dated, we even slept on 2 mattresses on the floor instead of having a bed frame. Rooms unclean, windows unsecure, property unkempt. I would never, ever endose this hotel in any way.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sbodiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean K, Guest Relations Manager at Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Kachina Lodge. I am puzzled as to why it took approximately one year to write it? Also, the time span in your review are similar to what a competitor might write, however, there have been many improvements done since you were last here. We hope you will visit us again to enjoy the improvements.
Kindest Regards,
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Two clean room with big beds. Be sure to specify hard or soft eggs at complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedroapodaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean K, Guest Relations Manager at Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at the Kachina Lodge.
We do hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We arrived in Taos and had no accommodation booked. We were tired after a long day and drove straight to the Kachina as we had stayed there previously and it had been good. The reception area was scruffy and although we accepted the room we did so because we were tired and it was very cheap. However being cheap does not justify the absolute minimun being provided eg there were no cups or ice buckets and the TV was old with very few channels. As previous contributers have observed all furniture and decor is dated and worn. All this was something I could have coped with for one night but then breakfast was taken and the overworked waitress clearly could not cope with the demands of managing everything herself. I ordered Oatmeal which should have been safe but when I poured milk on the milk was sour so rendering the Oatmeal inedible. I did point this out and recieved an apology and offer of replacement but did not want anything else.
Really this is not good enough and I add to those who feel the place (or at least some of it)should be completely re-modelled

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USAholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean K, Guest Relations Manager at Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay at the Kachina Lodge. Please know that your issues are being addressed. We hope you will visit us again so that you may enjoy
our improvements.
Sincerely,
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
381 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Address: 413 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $75 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing