We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm, not sure what is happening here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Tyler, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Hmmm, not sure what is happening here”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Have stayed here many times. Always an OK place to stay in Taos. However, they recently decided to part ways with Beat Western. Not sure why. Room ok, but not the cleanest. Stains on the sheets and mildew in the bathroom. Their website is non-existent so you have to do everything by phone. Hot breakfast buffet is the usual eggs/potatoes/sausage/cereal. Nothing special, but it is included in the room price. Right on the edge (a few blocks) from the center of old town. They do have a shuttle that will take you to and from restaurants and such We may look for another place to stay in Taos.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    90
    74
    99
    122
See reviews for
119
158
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here in July. I can't even begin to describe the dirty carpet, stained chairs, bugs, broken curtains and curtain rods. It was late and we'd checked in so stayed but I definately called and complained. The next morning the manager credited our charge as she didn't want me complaining in the lobby. Everyone else I came in contact with had the same complaints. I was told after all the place is 51 years old. Well in 51 years they need to remodel. To their benefit I guess remodeling has begun but these rooms should never have been rented out.

Room Tip: Don't check in until you check out the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol97058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taos hotels

Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The grounds are beautiful and the swimming pool is clean and beautiful. The morning chef Martin is an excellent cook and the waitress Teresa is amazing the lobby and dining rooms are beautiful, but the rooms are disgusting, very dirty carpet, ants and some kind of black worms all over the bathroom I asked for a different room but is was just as bad. Its really to bad that they take care of everything else but the most important part of the hotel is the worst.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Had a lovely stay in this hotel when visiting Taos last weekend. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Big bathroom/changing area. Native American dancing was great for evening entertainment. Only downside was the breakfast - had to wait over half hour for the food to arrive and when it did there was a hair on it. If you don't eat here, then its great. Recommended stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Spent 3 nights there with a group of friends. We were on our motorcycles, touring. My room was OK, though a bit small and the A/C was only fair. The included breakfast was very good. There is an on premise art gallery, which is nice and they have a few gift items to choose from in cases near the front check in counter. They also have a group of Indian dancers which perform on most nights....Interesting....They also have a lounge with live music on some nights. Happy hour prices are available in the bar during certain hours. All in all this is a good place with lots to do. Front desk personnel were helpful.....John M, Cypress, TX

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmodesette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed here because we trusted the Best Western name. We were very disappointed with the hotel. It is old and shows its age. The bathroom had corroding heater vents falling off the walls. There were silverfish in the bath tub. The shower head was fixed and sprayed in the wrong direction. The carpet was dirty. The TV remote was missing from the room and it took a while to get a replacement one to our room. The light was out in the stairwell leading up to our room and did not get replaced in the two night stay we were there even though maintenance staff had to bring the new TV remote to our room after dark. This resulted in a safety and crime concern. The parking lot was tight on the side we stayed and because of how anotherinconsiderate guest parked a different guest's car was the victim of a hit and run accident. Service in the restaurant was friendly, but unbelievably slow. The cashier got upset when asked to split a check for our group. The lounge was nice and the happy hour drink prices were good.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Badge540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Clean rooms, great staff and close to everything!!! Overall a great trip and I can't wait to visite again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazelooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
255 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Property: Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Address: 413 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5907
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing