We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orinda B & B was exceptional, perfect, and we can't wait to come back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orinda Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Orinda B & B was exceptional, perfect, and we can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The Orinda is a beautifully kept adobe hacienda with very attractive, tasteful and authentic southwestern decor. It is about a 10-minute walk to the town center, but you'd never know it while you were at the Orinda. It is in a beautiful, quiet and peaceful country setting, overlooking pastures with Taos Mountain in the background. John and Kathryn, owners of the Inn, are a great asset: very friendly, accommodating and helpful. John has been a professional chef and therefore the breakfasts are outstanding and plentiful. Kathryn is a wonderful hostess. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and attractive. We wished we had been able to stay in Taos longer to spend more time just relaxing at the Orinda. We will return to Taos, in a large part due to the Orinda B & B. It will be the only place we will think of staying!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cctravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2010

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at Orinda B&B in Taos, NM. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The hosts were friendly and informative. The breakfasts were wonderful and we met the other guests and had a nice time talking before starting the day's activities. The area around Taos is beautiful in a sparse, desert kind of way. The B&B is rather expensive, but so is everything else in that area.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This was our first introduction to B&Bs, and John and Cathryn were excellent hosts. John's cooking is first rate, and Cathryn was a great source of information about local attractions and restaurants. She's also a great conversationalist, which made us feel welcome and at home. The B&B is beautifully done, and there are books and movies that we could have used if we had had the time while in Taos. We also enjoyed being greated every morning by Katie and Chaco, the dogs. The common areas are very comfortable and nicely decorated. They were extremely accommodating in case we wanted anything. We loved the peace and quiet of the area and the views of the mountains. We had a nice fireplace to take the chill off and provide atmosphere in the evening.

Because of our experience at the Orinda, we will definitely return to Taos, and this B&B will be the only place we would consider staying.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakemissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We had a perfect, 3-night, stay May 11 - 13. The Truchas Room is warm and quiet. John and Cathryn are graceful hosts. The breakfasts and the afternoon pie were excellent. I enjoyed watching a coyote from the large living room window. It was also a relaxing place to read and look up at the wonderful view of Taos Mountain. The dining area has even more light than the photographs on the web site. We hope to return in 2011.
Sam and Julie Smith

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaatleSam19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed in a lovely room, with windows opening out onto a prairie dog filled meadow. The furnishings were georgous and the housekeeping was immaculate. We left our car parked at the Bed and Breakfast most days. We walked to the library, city hall, the plaza, art galleries, and restaurants. One snowy day,we stayed inside, catching up on paperwork in front of a huge window looking out over the snowy landscape. It was a terrific experience.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Orinda has a view of the mountains that can't be beat, along with incredible hospitality. The rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable, and are fabulously decorated in that unique New Mexican style. The breakfasts cannot be beat; we had everything from Eggs Benedict (superb) to blueberry pancakes (wonderful). There are a variety of snacks available, too, which really hit the spot after a long day of skiing- think homemade pie, brownies, and cookies among other offerings. The location is tucked away, and therefore quiet, but just minutes away from great restaurants and shops. The bottom line here is that if you go to Taos, Orinda is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoorsygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plano, tx
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We stayed at Orinda during Spring break. We really enjoyed our stay. We felt at home. John cooking was great. John and Catherine are excellent host.

Bhalaji
Plano, TX

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bk1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
1.3 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Worldmark by Wyndham Taos
0.5 mi away
Inger Jirby's Guest Houses
0.5 mi away
Mabel Dodge Luhan House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orinda Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orinda Bed and Breakfast

Property: Orinda Bed and Breakfast
Address: 461 Valverde St, Taos, NM 87571-6699
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing