We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely introduction to what Northern New Mexico is!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #5 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed with my mum in January. Tim and Leslie are very welcoming, the Inn is in the most fantastic location, rooms are lovely and very much in a style fitting this area.
And the breakfast, modern New Mexican, perfect.

It's a great location for the Enchanted circle and the nearby ski resorts, Red River and a couple of others and of course Taos Ski Valley itself.

And it's a few minutes drive from the Plaza and from Taos Pueblo - all must sees.

Definitely would love to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan-ErasmusBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 317 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

Where to start? We flew into Santa Fe and drove up to Taos in the dark, tired after a long day of travel. The directions to the guesthouse were very clear, so we had no trouble finding it. Tim (our host) happened to be outside and he warmly welcomed us with a short tour of the grounds before showing us our room. We were in the Taos Suite, which was as big as a studio apartment, with a king bed and a full kitchen. There was a lovely tiled bathroom with a shower, and a separate room with a claw foot bathtub. There was also an adobe fireplace, and Tim supplied us with wood for a nice fire every evening. With the warm window treatments, a cozy fire, and a very comfortable bed, we were able to relax and unwind after a hectic holiday season. Leslie and Tim made an amazing breakfast each day. It was really yummy, with fresh fruit, a different egg concoction every morning, muffins, oatmeal, or the best homemade granola I've ever tasted, all available for hungry guests. I had a miserable cold the entire time, but if I had to be miserable, this was the ideal place! We managed to see the Rio Grande gorge and bridge, drove the High Road to see amazing vistas, an old pueblo and churches, and found some great bargains in the Taos art shops. We also went up to Taos Ski Valley so my husband could ski. My cold kept me off the slopes, but I enjoyed watching the skiers while having hot tea and some chocolate at Chocolate Extreme, which was recommended by our hosts. Tim and Leslie have maps and suggestions for dining, activities or sightseeing, and they are happy to share their knowledge of all things Taos. If our travels ever take us back to NM, this is place we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momrat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I lucked upon this gem of Taos, as a first night stay before attending a groupon at a fake, poser b&b down the road.

Don't be put off by the 2 mile drive from downtown Taos, which is annoying after about 2 hours of tourist trap activity.

The Old Taos B&B is on 5 plus acres. It has beautiful sunrises and sunsets. You can sit outside with the resident B&B watchdog, watchcats, and egg laying chickens in the distant and enjoy a cup of copy. Pure bliss.

The building is very authentic, old adobe, with 24" walls. Not a residence inn covered with an adobe veneer like many places closer to downtown Taos.

Tim has a personality of gold. He is a joy to converse with and exudes such great candor and dedication to his craft.

Rates are VERY reasonable. Have a great time. Spend it at the Old Taos grounds, then out to the surrounding areas of Taos. Skip downtown, and definitely skip the pueblo. Those are working definitions of tourist traps and NOT the beauty and spirit of Taos.

Cheers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDenverDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This B&B owned by Tim & Leslie Reeves is an absolute MUST for those wanting an historical retreat in Northern New Mexico. The guesthouse itself is so cozy with all the local touches one comes to expect in this artists community. From the minute you enter the grounds, you realiize you've entered a very unique property. The breakfast included is homemade and absolutely delectable, with fresh fruit, coffee, tea, eggs fresh from their chickens and breads hot from the oven. Quiet, restful and rejuvenating is the experience you will have when visiting this delightful retreat. The guesthouse and its hot tub are situtated on a hill overlooking some of the most breathtaking vistas and sunsets the area affords. Don't miss this gem of a hideaway just minutes from downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is the place to be in Taos! An old guesthouse in a beautiful setting. Tasteful and clean rooms, beautiful bathrooms in Mexican style.. Very kind and flexible owners, and a delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vosje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

we stayed 3 nights in this guesthouse and we had a unforgettable stay!! Everything was ok. The room, the breakfast, the host and hostess, the garden, the surroundings.Marvellous

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhschoorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Cannot say enough about the "experience" of this inn. Rustic adobe with uniquely different rooms, beautiful grounds, hot-tub, relaxed, friendly, wood burning kiva fireplace in the breakfast room, outstanding breakfast (muffin man owner Tim), and truly "people-people" owner couple of Leslie and Tim in their 23rd year. Owners are always helping guide people to new adventures in gallerys, shops, day trips, museums, walking, skiing, and of course the food inTaos. The inn is on the outskirts of Taos and less than five minutes from the plaza. Don't go here unless you ae looking for a peaceful place to relax and enjoy nature in a quiet setting. But don't be surprised if you find new friends over during lively discussions and swapping travel advise. Or just sit on your own enjoying this wonderful inn at the edge of town.

Room Tip: Our favorite is #7 close to the back entrance, steps away from the common room, and across from the...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZSeaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
533 reviews
2.2 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Taos Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Taos Guesthouse B&B

Address: 1028 Witt Rd, Taos, NM 87571-7030
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $177 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 180 year old hacienda lovingly restored an a rise overlooking Taos. Only a 5 minute drive from the Taos Plaza. We are laid back, friendly & outdoor enthusiasts with extensive knowledge of the area. Situated on 7.5 acres with great sunset views & starlit hot tub. Beautiful suites & cozy rooms with hand carved doors, Mexican tile, fireplaces, skylights & homemade breakfasts. Families welcome &a pets allowed in certain rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Old Taos Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Taos Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast
Old Taos Guesthouse Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing