We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a warm, genuine, refreshing place."”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada de Taos B&B
Ranked #9 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
“This is a warm, genuine, refreshing place."”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

La Posada de Taos is "off the beaten path" but close to the charming plaza of Taos. It has a view of the mountains, lovely gardens, patios, delicious food, and welcoming hosts. It is very quiet and the rooms are quite adequate, nicely decorated, and very clean. It is a lovely old adobe with modern conveniences and the inn keepers are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redtailhawk711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    38
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
45
219
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The cool adobe walls, the warm inn keepers, the delicious breakfast made for a wonderfull stay at La Posada de Taos. The bedroomroom was large and welcoming, the common areas cozy. Breakfast was hearty and the other guests were a delight. Grab a book, take a seat in the numerous areas and tune out the world.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pricekarla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Nice small inn with lovely rooms and great staff. Breakfast was out of this world! Room was nice enough and we got a walk in rate of about $180 for the Honeymoon cottage which was very nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaseBanun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Michael and Brad have created a wonderful and serene place at La Posada de Taos. We arrived towards the end of check-in (around 6pm) but both hosts were there to greet us. The wine and cheese evening reception was a welcome treat after a long road trip! One reviewer mentioned the narrow driveway might be difficult for SUVs. It is true that the Juanita entrance is narrow but the back gate can easily accommodate bigger cars.

Our room was exactly as pictured and was even better in person. We stayed in the El Solecito room and enjoyed a private patio, jacuzzi tub, and a comfortable seating area in front of the kiva fireplace. The bed and breakfast does not have air conditioning but our room was very comfortable despite the 90+ degree temperatures.

The breakfasts were exquisite (thank you, Michael!). I did not think I would enjoy the family style seating but it was a nice change from our usual B&B experiences. Our hosts dined with us and provided us with invaluable information about local culture and attractions. It was a great way to get to know the other guests in the house, too.

The location of La Posada de Taos is excellent. It is two blocks from the plaza but so quiet and private that we heard very little noise. We were able to walk to the plaza, to the galleries and museums on Ledoux Street, and to Kit Carson park.

Michael and Brad are great hosts because they are attentive without being overbearing, which is exactly what we expect from a B&B experience. They are available to answer questions and give restaurant recommendations but they don't hover. We are looking forward to visiting Michael, Brad, and Baron von Schnauzer again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coloradomtngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

La Posada was a great place to stay. The bed and breakfast is located in a quiet neighborhood and only a couple of blocks from the historic square in Taos. The hosts were great and Michael's breakfasts were wonderful. We highly recommend the B&B for a nice get away, place to relax, and within a short distance of many "sights to see" in the Taos area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed here over 4th of July weekend and had a wonderful time. Rochelle met us even though we arrived late and her warmth and friendliness made us feel so welcome. The gardens are beautiful in the summer, perfect for sharing a glass of wine and relaxing. The adobe is over 100 years old and furnished in classic Santa Fe style, you couldn't ask for more authentic lodgings. Also conveniently located, the Taos plaza and main drag for Taos galleries/shopping is an easy walk so you don't have to pay extra for parking fees. Also within walking distance of restaurants.

The gourmet breakfasts are outstanding, e.g., fresh fruit salad with yogurt dressing, home-made apple/turkey sausage with a poached egg & delicious sauce, excellent coffee, great selection of teas... wow. You eat "family style" with the other guests, which is a nice way to have a short but pleasant visit with them.

The only thing to be aware of is, it's an old house, with abundant charm but also the expected characteristics of an old house with wood floors - i.e., you can't walk without the floor squeaking alot so if you stay in the main building like we did, you're going to hear others and vice versa. Also, our bed squeaked every time we moved and wasn't all that comfortable. But, this was a minor drawback compared to all the other positive things. We had a great time there and would look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We were graciously met by Rochelle at the door and she truly set the level for our visit. Meals were absolutely delicious, the afternoon snack was tastefully done, the rooms were beautiful in every part of LaPosada de Taos! Truly relaxing atmosphere whether you were in your private bedroom, sharing the common rooms, or sitting in the abundant courtyards. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovnrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,166 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.7 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Taos B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Taos B&B

Property: La Posada de Taos B&B
Address: 309 Juanita Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6978
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada de Taos B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taos' First B&B is centrally located just 2 blocks west of Taos Plaza, an easy walk to dozens of restaurants, galleries, shops and live music venues. Our full multi-course breakfast is served each morning to all our guests with no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Posada de Taos B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing