We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada de Taos B&B
Ranked #9 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at La Posada de Taos and had a very pleasant experience. Our room led to a garden (and an easy path to moving our luggage in and out.) Our room was large and tastefully decorated with a very comfortable king-size bed. Michael provided two delicious breakfasts where we could chat with other guests, and Brad furnished a running narration on Taos, its inhabitants, and places to enjoy in town. The two of them could not have been more engaging as our hosts. An advantage of La Posada is that it is in walking distance of the Plaza, has easy parking, and doesn't trouble guests with incessant rules. A great place where we would stay again if we visit Taos. If you like museums, don't visit Taos on Monday. All the principal museums are closed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    38
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
45
219
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haltom City, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location (walking distance to the Plaza), room (Monterrey), delicious breakfasts, beautiful gardens, and knowledgeable / kind hosts made this a wonderful trip to Taos. We look forward to our next (and hopefully longer) trip to the mountains. We also enjoyed our "Sunset Dinner" float trip even though the clouds hid the sunset.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash-Balt
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We took the Scenic High Rd from Santa Fe to Taos and enjoyed the small towns, especially Chimayo. Because of our Hot Air Balloon ride and departing flight we may miss BOTH of our breakfasts. Our room(Selecito) was VERY BIG and the Bath very nice.(InnKeeper said that it was once the InnKeepers quarters. It feels like an apartment with a big yard. This place must be pet friendly unless barking is an issue. My wife says that the entire B and B reminds her of a Tuscan farmhouse that she stayed in. The lCreaky wood floors , old sofas, etc The location is about 2 blocks thru empty parking lots up a hill to the Taos shops and galleries. Driving and parking is probably a better option but we walked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanMan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaosBandBLover, General Manager at La Posada de Taos B&B, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We're almost blushing at this incredible review. Thanks so much to you both for your visit! It's true that many people feel the "vibe" of a small Italian or Spanish town in Taos. And believe us when we say that preserving this very special -- and very different -- look and feel is no small feat for Taos. We joke with our guests that you won't find the architectural elements of Taos at any Big Box Do-It-Yourself store in the country. And think how hard it is to preserve the narrow lanes and neighborhood feel of a place where hundreds of thousands of visitors pass through every year. Back here on our little hidden one-lane street, La Posada de Taos B&B specializes in history and quietude.

Giving our guests the kind of experience where they get to detach from the outside world in a historic Pueblo-style Adobe home is at the heart of everything we do. Of course, adding modern amenities like 600 thread-count sheets and culinary journeys keeps everyone slightly in touch with modern trends.

Before you left this morning we had already seen this review, so we asked about the "pet friendly" comment. Specifically, we asked if you had heard any dogs barking and you said "No." So we just wanted the reading public to understand that we ARE pet friendly and we don't have barking dogs on property. As of July 2013, our newest family member is now 5 months old -- a Standard Schnauzer who is not only super friendly with everyone, but very quiet. He's a great addition to La Posada and we're certain that everyone is going to love Grayson when he's all grown up in a year or so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed four nights in a separate house across from main building that was perfect for our needs(3 adults).Location is convenient. And, food was wonderful! I would recommend it to anyone. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lois581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a breath of fresh air to find La Posada de Taos after the very average accommodation experienced prior during our trip through the South West. The establishment is beautifully presented, with colourful and enchanting gardens, and great artefacts in the room to give one the feel of northern NM. The room was very comfortable, the bed firm, and sheets were soft and so sleep inducing. They are upgrading their a/c's which will improve conditions during the night. Brad and Michael are charming hosts, attentive to every detail, concerned with comfort and quality, and very engaging. Keep the dream alive guys, you're doing a great job. Looking forward to our return trip one day soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndighB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Comfortable, charming, great location! The breakfast was delicious and fellow travelers were a delight. Plan to recommend to friends and family. The perfect place to use as a "base" for day trips to Oho Caliente, Tesuque, and Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We loved being able to walk everywhere from La Posada's great location near Bent and LeDoux streets -- yet, inside the walls, it is a peaceful oasis. We slept soundly with the window and patio door of El Solecito wide open. Speaking of sleep, the bed linens are fabulous! Breakfast was great - and Brad evened packed us fruit and granola cups 'to go" when we, sadly, had to depart before breakfast the last day. There was always someone to help with suggestions...without being obtrusive. We'll definitely stay here again when we return to Taos.

Room Tip: El Solecito has a sitting area with fireplace, large bathroom with whirlpool tub, and a quiet outdoo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Brad and Michael are very committed to green practices.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourTroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Taos B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Taos B&B

Property: La Posada de Taos B&B
Address: 309 Juanita Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6978
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada de Taos B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taos' First B&B is centrally located just 2 blocks west of Taos Plaza, an easy walk to dozens of restaurants, galleries, shops and live music venues. Our full multi-course breakfast is served each morning to all our guests with no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Posada de Taos B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing