We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveler rating
520
51
15
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
520
51
15
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews love apple taos mountain steam shower taos suite cowgirl room banana pancakes new mexico cookies adirondack chairs breakfast was delicious huevos rancheros each morning mountain view kiva fireplace mabel dodge bed and breakfast wonderful hosts
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 589 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2018

Hacienda del Sol was a comfortable oasis for our recent visit to Taos. The hosts went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and helped us find places to go locally. The room was spacious and had a wood burning kiva fireplace which was so much fun to use the night is snowed several inches and we decided to just stay in the room. Breakfast each morning was first rate and cooked to order which was a nice touch. All said, this was a highly enjoyable stay and is highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunhouse, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for expressing your delight in staying with us. I'm glad you took advantage of a snowy evening to just relax by the fireplace. There is something mesmerizing about the kiva fireplaces. We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2018 via mobile

This was the perfect place for our first visit to Taos. Hosts Brian and Stephanie were friendly, knowledgeable and made sure everything was perfect. Room was large and beautifully decorated in traditional southwest furnishings with view of the mountain and outdoor courtyard...although it snowed the night before we arrived so didn’t take advantage of outdoor seating or hot tub but enjoyed the room fireplace. Excellent breakfast prepared to order. We would love to come back again with our grandchildren ... so much to do in the area and the Hacienda with its beautiful grounds and views and different room choices would be ideal.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Wander798395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunhouse, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello and thank you for your kind review. We have hosted many family reunions large or small and everyone seems to love our place and the activities Taos has to offer. If you're here in the summer, we offer complimentary use of the family facilities at the Quail Ridge Swim and Tennis club as well for our guests. Hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2018

We loved our weekend away at the Hacienda. We brought our 4month old puppy with us - it worked out well to have the center courtyards closed off by wooden doors to the parking lot. Felt cozy and ensconced from the road.

The breakfast and shared space throughout the kitchen and "living room" area for guests was so cozy and comfy for a wintery getaway. And you're right on the same block with the Love Apple restaurant ... yum.

It was just me and my husband and we stayed in the Taos Suite which has a lovely main room with a couch area to hang in and gas fireplace. The second smaller room is pretty small so would be ok for a couple kids but more adults might be a little tight.

The outdoor hottub set up is nice - you can sign up for a private half hour. it was mostly available while we were there. Recommend this place.

Room tip: Choose a room that opens into the courtyard rather than into the shared living space - might feel more private.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunhouse, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are glad you were cozy in the Taos Suite and enjoyed our lovely inn. We are so lucky to have the best restaurant right in front of us within walking distance. It is the perfect combination for staying with us and dining at Love Apple. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018

So glad we chose to stay here. It is the most quaint place in a beautiful setting. The family who runs it are so friendly and hospitable. Their breakfast is amazing and the room was perfect. It is definitely a charming and romantic hidden gem. The view from the garden is breathtaking. I highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnAir30003117939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunhouse, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for enjoying all that we have to offer. We are lucky to have such wonderful guests who enjoy what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

The breakfast was, unlike the case at most B&Bs, made-to-order: there were three entrees from which to choose and one could decide at breakfast instead of from a menu the night before. The breakfasts were excellent and two of the three choices were different for each of the three days that we were guests. Another rare B&B treat was a secluded outside hot tub that could be reserved for a specific time to ensure privacy. The staff were friendly and accommodating, snacks were available in the dining room all day long, and there was a restaurant right next door and a grocery store a short walk away. The B&B was located far enough from the historic downtown area that there was not a traffic jam by the property, unlike our experience when we first drove through Taos. We later used a shortcut that eliminated some downtown congestion on our way to the B&B.

Entering the driveway required acute attention and quick reflexes; fortunately, missing it simply required our going around via a long block and retrying the one-lane access to the parking lot. Happily we did not meet an exiting vehicle. Our key worked only for the main door to our room, not to the door that led to the courtyard. The bed squeaked.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the positives outweighed the negatives. Since we took two daytrips during our stay (Enchanted Circle and Ghost Ranch), we did not spend a lot of time relaxing in our room or on the grounds.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank VickiAnne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunhouse, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your detailed review and great feedback. it is lovely to be just far enough out of the historic district to enjoy the peace and quiet and yet easy to return and enjoy the sights. We have different keys for the courtyard or front door depending on where your room is located or perhaps the gate lock was stuck. Fortunately, thanks to your review the squeaky bed was reported to the managers and fixed as well as making sure all keys were functioning. Sounds like your were busy enjoying all the wonderful sights surrounding Taos.
Come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews