We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Complete Escape”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #4 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“A Complete Escape”
Reviewed August 5, 2008

I'd like to thank Luellen, Sparky and Donna, for a wonderful time over the 4th of July weekend. This is actually the second time I've visited the Hacienda del sol, after a wonderful week skiing over the Christmas holidays. It was amazing to see all the flowers in bloom, after having seen it all covered in snow. It was one of the nicest evenings, sitting on the lawn of the courtyard, watching the sunset over the Taos mountain, you have to see it to believe it. I'll definitley be back soon, thanks again.

  • Liked — Relaxing, quiet, beautiful
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Englishholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    46
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
91
328
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Our family of two adults and one teenage boy thoroughly enjoyed three days and three nights at Hacienda Del Sol between the Christmas and NYE Holiday period. From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed we were graciously welcomed and attended to by Innkeepers Gerd and Lu Ellen Hertel... A truly magnificent and personalbe couple!

We selected the Taos Suite accommodation which is a cozy and generous two-bedroom suite and provided ample space and privacy for the three of us. The suite was tastefully decorated and well-appointed, including a thoughtful welcome amenity basket of fresh whole fruits and imported chocolates and a personal hand-written note from our Innkeepers... A true five star touch! The focal point of the master bedroom was a beautiful gas fireplace and our bathroom featured a deep jet spa which was perfect following a full day of snowmobiling in the mountains.

In a word, our daily breakfast experience was PERFECT! Each morning as we arrived we were warmly greeted by our Innkeepers Gerd and Lu Ellen and immediately accommodated at one of the beautifully decorated dining tables. There was a variety of high quality breakfast offerings and the portions were abundant and generous. Little did we know that our breakfast cook was a highly-acclaimed and accomplished Executive Chef and his wife a part-time International Tour Director... We now understood why this B&B stood out amongst the rest in service and food quality!

Read my lips... "When visiting Taos NM, make sure you stay at the finest B&B in town... Hacienda Del Sol." You will find tremendous value and the finest hospitality experience in town!

  • Liked — Personal service from the Innkeepers
  • Disliked — Cold weather
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKingofHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2008

My wife and I are avid B & B users and I can honestly say that this was THE VERY BEST WE HAD EVER STAYED AT. After 25 years of marriage we were ready for a second honeymoon. Hacienda Del Sol lived up to its reputation as "One of the 10 most romantic inns in the US" and for us it is THE MOST ROMANTIC INN WE HAVE EVER STAYED AT. The breakfasts were sumptious and the European owners could not have been more charming and accomodating. I am from the UK originally and had never been to the American South West before. The Inn truely capured the essence of the SW with its adobe style of architechure and interior furnishings reflecting the best of local artisans. We loved our room, Los Amantes, created in the 1920's as a writing room for Mabel Dodge Luhan. It had a king size bed, enormous double jaccuzzi bath tub and Tiva fireplace. From every part of the property the beauty of the mountains is apparent.
To watch the sun set behind the mountains from the outdoor guest jacuzzi tub is a truely awesome experience. I should have written this review earlier. The fact that we are now planning our next trip prompted me to do so. I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — comfortable, spacious, interior decor reflected the SW
  • Disliked — It was all GREAT
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlander365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2008

I recently spent a weekend at a jewel of a place in Taos. Through friends I found out about the Hacienda del Sol and it's European innkeepers, Gerd and Luellen Hertel.

I was staying at the La Escondida suite, a truly authentic New Mexico style accommodation with a great fire place, jacuzzi, king size bed with scandinavian duvee and little touches throughout the suite. Beautiful welcome amenity. The upkeep and maintenance was worthy of a five star hotel.

The breakfast buffet was just spectacular and of a quality that I did not expect from a B&B. Everything was fresh (cut, baked, squeezed, brewed), with a presentation to match.

After further inquiry it turned out that Mr Hertel used to be the vice president of culinary operations for Norwegian Cruise Lines, with oversight of all food served on their fleet. No wonder that this inn has so many little and memorable details waiting for their guests.

Mr Hertel is even available to cook special dinner parties upon request - I can only imagine what they would look like.

I highly recommend the Hacienda. If you stay there, you must meet the Hertels, a most hospitable, entertaining and charming couple, always on the look-out for the well-being of their guests.

Keep up the good work!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank rhymeswithbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, FL
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2008

What a wonderful place to escape a fast-paced world. Once you walk through the front gate - enter the courtyards and look up at the mountains - you feel the stress and tension melt away. The only thing between you and the mountains are thousands of acres of Indian reservation.
The inn is only a 15 minute walk from downtown Taos, (shopping, museums and dozens of art galleries...cool little town!)
Our room was beautifully decorated in authentic NM motif. It had a kiva fireplace and beamed ceilings with a skylight. The managers were wonderful and the food exceptional. I plan on returning next summer.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank bontiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

The breakfast and managers were fabulous but the grounds were full of weeds. The inn is located on a busy and noisy highway behind a Lotaburger. The Cowboy view room that we paid extra for gave us a view of not only the mountain but the casino lights and trailers parked on the lot behind the inn. I don't know when USA today said that this was one of the 10 most romantic inns but it must have been many years ago. I don't think Select Inn has checked this place out for quite awhile.

  • Liked — Breakfasts
  • Disliked — The view and location
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MindyTucson_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We just returned from a stay at the Hacienda del Sol in Taos and were sad to leave, it was such a fabulous experience. This is a very special place and made the trip to Taos even more wonderful than usual. We stayed in the Taos Suite which has two rooms and a bathroom with a kiva fireplace that made it so cozy! There are no televisions in the rooms which I was afraid would drive my kids crazy, but we didn't miss it a bit. The kids actually read and sat in front of the fireplace and went to the common area to play checkers (there is a television in this area.) There is also a hot tub with a great view of the mountains and in the evenings, there are little white lights in the trees and luminarias (farolitos) along the rooftop adding to the magical atmosphere. The breakfasts were fantastic - fresh fruit and the best huevos rancheros. It's a short drive to town, just a minute or two. We would definitely return.

  • Liked — Very special, cozy, fireplace, hot tub, attention to detail, wonderful food
  • Disliked — Traffic
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jhalverstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,158 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.6 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,194 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Property: Hacienda del Sol
Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hacienda del Sol in the artist community of Taos, New Mexico is a special retreat, close to all of the natural and cultural wonders of the area. With 12 unique guest rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, the Inn offers the best view of Taos Mountain from the lovely grounds. Rooms are decorated with luxury Southwest bedspreads, Comphy sheets, and local art. Hacienda del Sol offers a full, hot, made to order breakfast each morning, an outdoor hot tub, and evening entertainment on summer weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing