We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most charming Innkeeper Couple”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #4 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2008

I recently spent a weekend at a jewel of a place in Taos. Through friends I found out about the Hacienda del Sol and it's European innkeepers, Gerd and Luellen Hertel.

I was staying at the La Escondida suite, a truly authentic New Mexico style accommodation with a great fire place, jacuzzi, king size bed with scandinavian duvee and little touches throughout the suite. Beautiful welcome amenity. The upkeep and maintenance was worthy of a five star hotel.

The breakfast buffet was just spectacular and of a quality that I did not expect from a B&B. Everything was fresh (cut, baked, squeezed, brewed), with a presentation to match.

After further inquiry it turned out that Mr Hertel used to be the vice president of culinary operations for Norwegian Cruise Lines, with oversight of all food served on their fleet. No wonder that this inn has so many little and memorable details waiting for their guests.

Mr Hertel is even available to cook special dinner parties upon request - I can only imagine what they would look like.

I highly recommend the Hacienda. If you stay there, you must meet the Hertels, a most hospitable, entertaining and charming couple, always on the look-out for the well-being of their guests.

Keep up the good work!

Stayed: June 2008
Thank rhymeswithbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 534 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2008

What a wonderful place to escape a fast-paced world. Once you walk through the front gate - enter the courtyards and look up at the mountains - you feel the stress and tension melt away. The only thing between you and the mountains are thousands of acres of Indian reservation.
The inn is only a 15 minute walk from downtown Taos, (shopping, museums and dozens of art galleries...cool little town!)
Our room was beautifully decorated in authentic NM motif. It had a kiva fireplace and beamed ceilings with a skylight. The managers were wonderful and the food exceptional. I plan on returning next summer.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank bontiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

The breakfast and managers were fabulous but the grounds were full of weeds. The inn is located on a busy and noisy highway behind a Lotaburger. The Cowboy view room that we paid extra for gave us a view of not only the mountain but the casino lights and trailers parked on the lot behind the inn. I don't know when USA today said that this was one of the 10 most romantic inns but it must have been many years ago. I don't think Select Inn has checked this place out for quite awhile.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MindyTucson_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We just returned from a stay at the Hacienda del Sol in Taos and were sad to leave, it was such a fabulous experience. This is a very special place and made the trip to Taos even more wonderful than usual. We stayed in the Taos Suite which has two rooms and a bathroom with a kiva fireplace that made it so cozy! There are no televisions in the rooms which I was afraid would drive my kids crazy, but we didn't miss it a bit. The kids actually read and sat in front of the fireplace and went to the common area to play checkers (there is a television in this area.) There is also a hot tub with a great view of the mountains and in the evenings, there are little white lights in the trees and luminarias (farolitos) along the rooftop adding to the magical atmosphere. The breakfasts were fantastic - fresh fruit and the best huevos rancheros. It's a short drive to town, just a minute or two. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jhalverstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We just got back from our first trip to Taos, New Mexico and spent the week at Hacienda del Sol. What a wonderful find in the little town of Taos. LuEllen and Rick made you feel right at home with their personalized attention and great restaurant recommendations. They welcome you upon arrival, give you a tour of the place and are always around should you need anything.

We stayed in the room called Mabel's Salon, what a charming room, complete with a fireplace and rocking chair. The room was spacious and clean and the two skylights added a lot of natural light.

They have a TV room with big comfy couches where you can pop your feet up and relax . You can watch a movie from their DVD selection or choose from the several board games they have on hand.

There are many high points to this B&B and one that is not soon to be forgotten was the freshly prepared daily breakfasts. Rick is an outstanding chef, creating something different and scrumptious every day. His pancake breakfasts were so filling that it would hold us until dinner, even with a full day of skiing. We will all miss those delicious breakfasts!!

Hacienda del Sol is conveniently located between Taos Ski Valley and the center of town. If you want to escape the daily grind and relax, then this home away from home is the place to visit. We hope to go back someday soon!!

The Vidal's

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Snowflake97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2007

We stayed at Hacienda del Sol (in the Taos suite) the over Thanksgiving holiday. We had a fantastic time, the service and the food was outstanding! The Thanksgiving dinner was just as good as being at home. The Taos Suite was very nice, comfortable, warm and quiet. I would highly recommend staying here and would definetely go back on my next visit to Taos.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank abrattin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Beautiful Bed & Breakfast just outside downtown Taos, NM. We loved it! I wish we stayed longer. The room was spotless with very comfortable beds. Little thoughtful touches all over the room - a CD player with a list of CDs you could use- books in the bookshelf. Warm and fluffy robes, waterbottles fresh every morning. The breakfasts are amazing- the dining room is colorful and cozy. Fresh fruit and your choice of something gourmet. The inn keepers were very friendly and made great recommendations for day trips and eating out. The backyard is a large courtyard with a hot tub and lovely gardens and sitting areas the gardens frame an amazing view of the mountains. I cannot say enough about this place. I plan to go back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,184 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $207 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hacienda del Sol in the artist community of Taos, New Mexico is a special retreat, close to all of the natural and cultural wonders of the area. With 12 unique guest rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, the Inn offers the best view of Taos Mountain from the lovely grounds. Rooms are decorated with luxury Southwest bedspreads, Comphy sheets, and local art. Hacienda del Sol offers a full, hot, made to order breakfast each morning, an outdoor hot tub, and evening entertainment on summer weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing