We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #3 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the Cowboy Suite for 3 nights. Very cozy main room. Clean, comfortable. Amazing breakfast, very friendly hosts. Restaurants within walking distance. Our kids did not miss TV!
Would come back again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supriya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. We enjoy our families here. During Christmas week, everyone is enjoying the new fallen snow and outdoor activities. in the 25 years that this has been an inn, the only TV is in our common living room which is used often for sporting events, movies or game playing. Wesee that guests don't miss TV here in Taos and find it peaceful to have a selection of music and books in the room. We do offer free WIFI that seems to be more popular these days. Glad the kids had a good time! Come back and see us again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    45
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
89
323
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in the Mable Salon. It was spacious,clean and comfortable. I enjoyed a long bath while my husband and grown son ventured around the trails. We were only two minutes from the Taos Plaza and only a minute from the famous Taos Pueblo, where Indians still live without electricity and running water! We took a tour of the Pueblo and all enjoyed it. A must see.

We all got a great nights rest, and my son, 26, signed up for the outdoor hot tub at 11pm. He thoroughly enjoyed it!

Breakfast was fabulous and the staff was very friendly. We all felt that it was an exceptional pick.

BTW, breakfast hours have been extended. I know that they were serving until 9:30.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovey remarks and fun conversation. We have had a real snowy Christmas week and great atmosphere here in Taos. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The location, the owners, the breakfast, the rooms were all fantastic. Have stayed at other properties in Taos, however, this is the best. Back to breakfast...it really was quite good with a variety of foods that delighted us each day. The library is an additional delightfully quiet room for reading. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenkinghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We so appreciate the lovely reviews from our guests and listen to all the comments our
guests make in order to continually improve the guest experience here. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an outstanding small inn. The original building is a historic Hacienda. The architecture and decor are traditional New Mexican style with tile floors, kiva fireplaces and beamed ceilings. Absolutely charming. We stayed for two nights, but wished we had had time to stay longer. It was the accommodation highlight of a two-week trip to the Southwest. Everything was superb, from the delicious breakfast in a large, open-plan kitchen/dining room, to the comfort of our spacious bedroom and bathroom (with jacuzzi tub) to the helpful advice, information and directions given by our hosts. The Hacienda is set in lovely gardens with mature trees and has a magnificent mountain view. There's a secluded outdoor hot tub. The setting and service are first class A romantic place run by friendly young people committed to satisfying their guests' every need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsreturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Wonderful experience great views and great breakfast the only concern was that breakfast was served from 8-9 am,....when on holiday we thought that breakfast should be extended more than one hour.....suggestion: 7-10 am would be a perfect setting for a late morning. Otherwise a great location and wonderful owners that took excellent care of us.

Room Tip: Great hot tub and the breakfast was very tasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Breakfast has been served from 7:30-9:00 for over 20 years here so as fairly new owners, we kept the same hours. Our managers serve a hot cooked to order fresh breakfast every morning unlike some bed and breakfasts that have a buffet self service. Since we are a small bed and breakfast, they also do all the clean-up and move on to other duties all morning so it is hard to extend the hours too late. We find our skiiers are in early for breakfast and summer guests are up and off to enjoy the sights of Taos by 9:00/9:30. If anyone would like a slightly later breakfast, we are always open to making an adjustment from time to time so don't hesitate to ask us. After 9:00, there is always fruit, cereal, and coffee, etc. for those who really want to sleep in and relax. We try to be as flexible as possible but also try to maintain a schedule and finish all the morning duties..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having stayed at the Hacienda del Sol a few times in the past three years, we booked a four-night get-a-way over Thanksgiving. The property is quiet and peaceful and the views are amazing! I was pleasantly surprised by the new bedding, which was both high quality and comfy. The breakfasts are good and I appreciate the willingness to accomodate special requests. Finally took the opportunity to dine at the nearby Love Apple this trip. It is not to be missed! We love that the Hacienda reminds us of some of the great B&Bs we have visited throughout Europe. Erica, Mark, Luellen, and Chef Gerd are not only gracious hosts, but they are truly good people who welcome you with open arms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirl1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a great visit in Taos and big reason why was the Haceienda del Sol. It was truly one of the best b&b’s we have stayed at. The innkeepers were very warm and friendly, the room was great and roomy (we stayed in Mabel's Salon), as was the common living room. Also great were all of the things they had for us that made it feel like a home away from home, like the coffee/hot water, snacks, restaurant menus, robes, DVD’s, and various books to read. Oh, and then there was the jacuzzi. What a great way to really relax after a long day of shopping and sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricSJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed our historic Mabels' Salon - in honor of previous owner and art patroness Mabel Dodge Luhan. The room was just repainted and floors refinished so it should be bright and cheerful as well as cozy and warm by the fire this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
3.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
1.3 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Property: Hacienda del Sol
Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing