We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #4 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our stay at the Hacienda was wonderful with great views of the Taos Mtn in the backyard. Our room was very comfortable and cozy and was great without the distractions of a TV, phone service and all our other electronic "necessities" that we can't live without any other day. Breakfast was a grand treat with the 3 choices offered for main course. Can't wait to make it back to Taos.
Our only issue was location to the Plaza as it is not within walking distance but not all that far to drive as it only took about 5 minutes to get to downtown and Plaza area.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have good views and relaxing atmospheres from what we could see as we walked aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearle2448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 540 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

A hidden treasurer, if you get close you have to stay there.
Close to sky resort and the horseback riding was great but the hot tub after the ride was magnificent
Also very close to the town square where you can shop until you are content

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellsangelnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hacienda del Sol was wonderful. We stayed two nights in October and the leaves around the premises were beautiful! Our breakfasts were delicious and the hosts were very pleasant. We will be back next time we are in Taos.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Adobe fireplace, luxurious linens, viga ceilings, jacuzzi big enough for two, skylights, a bed that required a 3 step stool to access-all in the Taos suite. Wind blowing through the cottonwood trees framing the view of Taos mountain. Some of the best scrambled eggs you'll ever taste. Cookies, tea, snacks always available. Friendly welcoming staff and good company, books, overstuffed furniture in the cozy common areas. Walking distance to Love Apple, and a bottle of pinot noir left for us to find when we came "home" from dinner (42nd anniversary!). What's not to love?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusty10370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in the Adobe room in April and just loved the southwest decor and kiva fireplace. The views of the mountains from the courtyard is spectacular and relaxing. Erica and Mark are terrific hosts and even cooked our special request, stuffed french toast. We loved it so much we returned in October and found the same beautiful accomadations in the Escandida room. Can't wait for our next stay!

Room Tip: Can't imagine there is a room I wouldn't stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 434BobB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in the Cowgirl room with its jacuzzi tub. My friend was in Cowboy. The B&B was clean and well run and the two courtyards would be real draws in slightly warmer temperatures. The views of the mountains were awesome. The Cowgirl room was huge and on the second floor, overlooking the mountains. This room was furnished with memorabilia of Annie Oakley and Bella Starr. The sheets felt as though they were made from Egyptian cotton, but they were really a superb microfiber. Breakfast each morning was delightful and different from the prior day. There appears to be an egg specialty each morning, but eggs cooked to order are also available. Breakfast started out with yogurt in parfait glasses, topped with granola and a fruit compote. Orange juice, coffee, tea, etc. was also available. Our hostess was gracious and the chef was excellent. Our bathrooms and bedrooms were cleaned each day.Coffee was available each morning by 6:45 and breakfast was served from 7 to 9:00. I look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: There is an outdoor hot tub and guests can make 30 minute reservations so you're guaranteed priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed there during the Taos balloon festival.
Erica and Mark the hosts make you feel like extended family with a warm welcome.
Their service is always attentive and tailored to each guests needs.
I being type 2 diabetic was delighted they would cook me a breakfast that kept my sugars in line while giving my friend a three course wonder.
They are ready with helpful tips on places to eat and will arrange reservations and more making your stay care free. Their online reservations are a breeze and you can see the room selection well displayed.
I've been coming for over 12 years and look forward to another 12.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uktravelerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,237 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.2 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,287 reviews
2.8 mi away
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
1.5 mi away
Palacio de Marquesa
Palacio de Marquesa
#7 of 23 in Taos
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $185 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hacienda del Sol in the artist community of Taos, New Mexico is a special retreat, close to all of the natural and cultural wonders of the area. With 12 unique guest rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, the Inn offers the best view of Taos Mountain from the lovely grounds. Rooms are decorated with luxury Southwest bedspreads, Comphy sheets, and local art. Hacienda del Sol offers a full, hot, made to order breakfast each morning, an outdoor hot tub, and evening entertainment on summer weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing