We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #4 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We just got back from our first trip to Taos, New Mexico and spent the week at Hacienda del Sol. What a wonderful find in the little town of Taos. LuEllen and Rick made you feel right at home with their personalized attention and great restaurant recommendations. They welcome you upon arrival, give you a tour of the place and are always around should you need anything.

We stayed in the room called Mabel's Salon, what a charming room, complete with a fireplace and rocking chair. The room was spacious and clean and the two skylights added a lot of natural light.

They have a TV room with big comfy couches where you can pop your feet up and relax . You can watch a movie from their DVD selection or choose from the several board games they have on hand.

There are many high points to this B&B and one that is not soon to be forgotten was the freshly prepared daily breakfasts. Rick is an outstanding chef, creating something different and scrumptious every day. His pancake breakfasts were so filling that it would hold us until dinner, even with a full day of skiing. We will all miss those delicious breakfasts!!

Hacienda del Sol is conveniently located between Taos Ski Valley and the center of town. If you want to escape the daily grind and relax, then this home away from home is the place to visit. We hope to go back someday soon!!

The Vidal's

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Snowflake97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 540 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2007

We stayed at Hacienda del Sol (in the Taos suite) the over Thanksgiving holiday. We had a fantastic time, the service and the food was outstanding! The Thanksgiving dinner was just as good as being at home. The Taos Suite was very nice, comfortable, warm and quiet. I would highly recommend staying here and would definetely go back on my next visit to Taos.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank abrattin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Beautiful Bed & Breakfast just outside downtown Taos, NM. We loved it! I wish we stayed longer. The room was spotless with very comfortable beds. Little thoughtful touches all over the room - a CD player with a list of CDs you could use- books in the bookshelf. Warm and fluffy robes, waterbottles fresh every morning. The breakfasts are amazing- the dining room is colorful and cozy. Fresh fruit and your choice of something gourmet. The inn keepers were very friendly and made great recommendations for day trips and eating out. The backyard is a large courtyard with a hot tub and lovely gardens and sitting areas the gardens frame an amazing view of the mountains. I cannot say enough about this place. I plan to go back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

This is a lovely spot. Like most haciendas, the charm is on the inside, once you get through the garden gate. Incredible views of the mountains, great hottub, giant beautiful trees. Rooms are spacious and clean and the innkeepers very friendly and kind. Gerd, great German chef, cooks a terrific breakfast. This is a peaceful, quiet spot and well worth the visit.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank georgiaoakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

Hacienda del Sol could also be called Hacienda del Soul, it was that refreshing to the spirit. Although we only spent one night there, it was delightful. The room was lovely and very comfortable. We opted for one of the rooms with a steam shower and it was great. There is also a hot tub outdoors with a wonderful view of the mountains; the property backs up to Pueblo land, so there is a sense of being out in the wide-open spaces. The management provides a sign-up sheet so you can have the tub all to yourselves at that time, if you wish.

The breakfast was excellent and the grounds and common spaces were well tended. I hope we can return; one day in Taos is not enough!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Roadsscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

My wife and I have traveled to many places over the past 20 years both with our children and just the two of us. Hacienda del Sol proved to be the one B and B that we would readily return to, even make a special trip just for the stay. The innkeepers were hospitable and made ever effort to accommodate our needs. The grounds were beautiful with the Sangre de Christo mountains as a backdrop. The location was private, safe and quiet. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable and Gerd's breakfast was an exceptional treat to start each day.

Gene Dickerson, MD

Stayed: September 2007
Thank southcarolinawildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Was last month in Taos, New Mexico and was staying in "Hacienda del Sol",
This place is magnificient, was staying in the Taos Suite which had a double Jacuzzi Tub and a Sky Light shower, all rooms are different and unique, the Breakfast is out of this world, and this all together for $180, what a great deal, was paying cash as I had problems with my credit, the people are extremly friendly and very helpful,
planning to spend our next anniversary there, a place to come back

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank worldtravelBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,238 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.2 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,287 reviews
2.8 mi away
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
1.5 mi away
Palacio de Marquesa
Palacio de Marquesa
#7 of 23 in Taos
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $180 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hacienda del Sol in the artist community of Taos, New Mexico is a special retreat, close to all of the natural and cultural wonders of the area. With 12 unique guest rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, the Inn offers the best view of Taos Mountain from the lovely grounds. Rooms are decorated with luxury Southwest bedspreads, Comphy sheets, and local art. Hacienda del Sol offers a full, hot, made to order breakfast each morning, an outdoor hot tub, and evening entertainment on summer weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing