We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and perfectly relaxing”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #4 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in the Cowgirl room with its jacuzzi tub. My friend was in Cowboy. The B&B was clean and well run and the two courtyards would be real draws in slightly warmer temperatures. The views of the mountains were awesome. The Cowgirl room was huge and on the second floor, overlooking the mountains. This room was furnished with memorabilia of Annie Oakley and Bella Starr. The sheets felt as though they were made from Egyptian cotton, but they were really a superb microfiber. Breakfast each morning was delightful and different from the prior day. There appears to be an egg specialty each morning, but eggs cooked to order are also available. Breakfast started out with yogurt in parfait glasses, topped with granola and a fruit compote. Orange juice, coffee, tea, etc. was also available. Our hostess was gracious and the chef was excellent. Our bathrooms and bedrooms were cleaned each day.Coffee was available each morning by 6:45 and breakfast was served from 7 to 9:00. I look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: There is an outdoor hot tub and guests can make 30 minute reservations so you're guaranteed priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 540 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed there during the Taos balloon festival.
Erica and Mark the hosts make you feel like extended family with a warm welcome.
Their service is always attentive and tailored to each guests needs.
I being type 2 diabetic was delighted they would cook me a breakfast that kept my sugars in line while giving my friend a three course wonder.
They are ready with helpful tips on places to eat and will arrange reservations and more making your stay care free. Their online reservations are a breeze and you can see the room selection well displayed.
I've been coming for over 12 years and look forward to another 12.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uktravelerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the Adobe Room with it's charming, romatic kiva fireplace, steam shower, and to die for linens and robes. Wonderful hosts and delicious breakfast make it a great place to stay, not to mention the view of the mountains from the property. Although the Adobe Room did not have a mountain view, it has its own "front yard" with hammock and seating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer1431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in the Pueblo room which was small, but had a wonderful view of the Taos Mountain. Our host, Mark, was very welcoming and made us comfortable immediately. We were tired from our drive and nursing a sore foot, so we got a carryout for dinner from the adjacent restaurant, Love Apple, which we ate on our patio, enjoying the beautiful scenery. The room was perfectly appointed and comfortable. The kiva fireplace was candlelit, which was very romantic. The breakfast was delicious and we had a great time with the other guests. We should have stayed longer but will return. The sheets on the bed were microfiber, so soft and comfortable, I am thinking of buying some.

Room Tip: You want a room with a view of Taos Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkkkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a delightful place! A lovely oasis with wonderful hosts. Knowing the history of this old building made it that much more special.

One of the best aspects: a choice for breakfast, sweet or savory, and no pressure to eat at a specific time. We tend to be light eaters and late sleepers on vacation, so this was very welcome.

Speaking of late sleepers, if you are, you may want to consider another room unless you really need the space. The skylight right over the bed is not conducive to sleeping in... That said, a very comfortable room - loved the couch!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank BoomersRock5256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely B&B in Taos. We stayed 3 nights. First two in the Cowboy suite. Two bedrooms/bath. Steam shower. All Fabulous!
Last nite in the Taos suite also a two bedroom suite. That was clean but dark and just not as darn cute as the other one. 2nd bedroom was very small. Maybe ok for kids not 2 adults. Bathroom was just average. Guess we were spoiled by the first two nights.
Food was excellent. Mark and Erica were Wonderful hosts. Next time I visit I would like to stay in a room that opens to the courtyard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizbeth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

You have to look hard to find Hacienda del Sol, especially in the dark and the rain. The sign for the inn is, shall we say, subtle. But the search is worth it. A fortuitous online search had led to our inn choice. Checking in after hours and hungry from the drive to Taos, we seized the recommendation in the welcome note to try dinner at The Love Apple next door. Again understated. Loved the meal and the ambience. Next morning, we awoke to a splendid mountain view, a hearty breakfast and engaging conversation, enjoyed all the more on an unhurried Sunday morning. Don't know when we'll next be in Taos, but this is where we'd stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,238 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.2 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,287 reviews
2.8 mi away
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
1.5 mi away
Palacio de Marquesa
Palacio de Marquesa
#7 of 23 in Taos
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $180 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hacienda del Sol in the artist community of Taos, New Mexico is a special retreat, close to all of the natural and cultural wonders of the area. With 12 unique guest rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, the Inn offers the best view of Taos Mountain from the lovely grounds. Rooms are decorated with luxury Southwest bedspreads, Comphy sheets, and local art. Hacienda del Sol offers a full, hot, made to order breakfast each morning, an outdoor hot tub, and evening entertainment on summer weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing