We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb attention from all the staff made this an A+ inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio de Marquesa
Ranked #7 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We cannot more highly applaud Susan, Brian, Alice - and everyone else - for the first class service they delivered on our two night stay here. The breakfasts were divine, and light dinners were more than filling. Bonuses: free juices/water in refrigerator, and a free laundry room/free WIFI. Impeccably clean/well kept inn that will not disappoint even the most discriminating traveler!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eelbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 222 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

This is our second year in a row to stay here. We always go to Taos on family ski trip and stay at Casa. We usually actually ski at Sipapu. The rooms at Casa are so wonderful and clean and comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. They serve a light dinner in the evening that is usually enough for me but the boys always walk to McDonalds for a little more grub. The people are so welcoming and accomodating. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
Thank AmberRaquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

I've debated writing this review because the housekeeper, grounds and room were nice. However, I think I'd appreciate it if someone were to fill me in on the experience we had. Although the web site stated, "Food is given serious consideration at Casa de las Chimeneas" with a beautiful photo showcasing beautiful food...that was not the case. When I stay at a nice, expensive B&B I expect truth in advertising - I expect nice food, otherwise, why not save your money and stay at a more reasonably priced hotel and then splurge on nice dining out? In fact, that is what I recommend, pass on this place until they return to what was once (I assume) a wonderful B&B experience. Canned fruit, scrambled eggs and bacon - I can do at home. Soup - I can make at home. Oatmeal bars - easy, peasy! My advice to the inn: Get back to fancier B&B fare: quiche, well-thought desserts, fresh fruit and a few nice h'orderves - or drop your prices and your guests' expectations. The food doesn't need to be ultra fancy, but it does need to have a degree of thought and care. The property really is beautiful and the rooms well-kept, it just feels like someone's heart isn't in it anymore.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueskyandsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Our second time there and very disappointed this time. Place seems to be coasting on past reputation.
Went for ski trip with family and very disappointed with food and service. Especially considering the premium peak season rate. Fireplace in lobby was never lighted, toiletries were not re-stocked and light super was a joke.
Worst part was coming back from skiing and finding nothing but mashed potatoes left for super. We were on time, but chicken and vegetables were all gone. Manager's lame response was to heat up three frozen Banquet chicken nuggets. Whole family left hungry.
Rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable, and breakfast is good, but overall not worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolandkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Excellent service. Wonderful privacy if you so choose. Clean and attentive service. Best B&B I've experienced. Easy walk to downtown. Caveat: I understand it was being sold last year when we visited. May not be same management or staff.

Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We booked on short notice and got what was apparently the premier room - La Sala de Patron - in between two weekends. The property is well maintained and quiet although it is walking distance from shopping. The room was very nice, large and well equpped; the service was impeccable. Breakfast was excellent, large, varied, and made with attention to individual preferences. The light supper, which we ate one night, was a nice extra. The staff was solicitous and helpful. Brian, the resident innkeeper, enthusiastically told us about area attractions and restaurants although he must have give the same spiel a thousand times. My wife had a massage arranged through the B&B and reported that it was extremely good. We have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We rented their most exclusive suite which was nicely furnished, however, the fire place did not work. Brian, the afternoon clerk, told us maintenace would fix it. They never showed up. It was a cold stay. The exercise room had out dated equipment that was rusted and not maintained; there was no drinking water available for anyone using the exercise room. We were given a number to call for after hours service, no one responded.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Worldtravelor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
540 reviews
1 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on La Loma Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Marquesa

Address: 405 Cordoba, Taos, NM 87571-6571 (Formerly Casa de las Chimeneas)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $167 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Marquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio de Marquesa is 2 1/2 blocks from the historic center of town, Taos Plaza. Built on 7/10 of an acre with a high wall and seventeen large trees around the perimeter, it seems secluded and apart from the bustle of town, yet is close to all the historic sites, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palacio de Marquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Chimeneas Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing