We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palacio de Marquesa
Ranked #6 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Wife and I had a fine trip to Taos (our first). The stay at Casa de las Chimeneas helped make it all fun. Inn was great (liked the fact they had clothes washer and dryer available) and staff was perfect!! Location made for easy walking into Plaza area. They have their act together!!
Richard E.
Winston-Salem and Chapel Hill, NC

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 227 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

My wife and I live in Carlinville, IL. We've been to Casa twice, the first time on a driving vacation throughout New Mexico and Arizona. The last time, in May 2011, it was on an impulse; we flew to Santa Fe to visit it and Taos, largely because we love Casa as a B&B and Taos as a town. After our first visit and before this last one, my wife took our daughter to NM and to stay in Taos at Casa, for the same reasons.

Casa is wonderful in all respects: Excellent food that's varied and well prepared; an atmosphere of intimacy; personal, accommodating attention from the knowledgeable staff; beautiful rooms with a creative southwestern decor (including the colorful, tiled bathrooms); and a "remote," secluded feel, even though it's just a minute or two from the plaza. It also offers massage and other spa amenities for those who want to indulge.

Casa is in our top three best B&Bs nationwide. We travel a lot and stay at B&Bs whenever we can. Casa is up there with one in Sedona, AZ and another in Wilmington, NC.

The only possible negative is the management's apparent decision to not offer a light meal in the evening. Their rationale is sound: guests want to and should take advantage of the many excellent restaurants in Taos for dinner. But the light evening meal was nice for those of us who have big lunches on top of the great Casa breakfasts and don't have the appetite to go out for a traditional dinner. No matter. We will be back.

Rich & Judy M.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Casa de las Chimeneas for two nights and loved it! It was a beautiful oasis in the midst of Taos and the people who work at the Inn couldn't be friendlier! We will certainly return the next time we visit New Mexico.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Had a great weekend in Taos, the room was huge, and very well thought out.
A fully stocked refrigerator, with free beverages, a private patio, every detail was well executed. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My boys (13 & 5) & I had a wonderful stay as we discovered Toas & the surrounding area for the first time. The room (Sombraje) was perfect, very comfortable & spacious. The staff anticipated our needs & met them beyond my expectations. We loved playing games & reading on the patio & walking through the garden to discover new flowers & plants. My 5 yr old enjoyed playing hide-n-seek in the garden even after a long day of hiking.
My 12 yr old says the best part was the delicious food & all the games to choose from.
I enjoyed the walks to the plaza, the quiet relaxing gardens for reading as well as the mint-infused hot baths in a very spacious jet tub at the end of each day. The breakfasts were excellent (Thank-you Rosie & Loraine), thoughtfully prepared, and the evening light fare was graciously modified to be kid-friendly (thank you Michele & Brian).
I look forward to staying again...maybe in the winter or fall when we can enjoy hot cocoa around the fireplace & a snow covered mountain.
Thanks to all for making our back to school retreat a very pleasant trip. =)

Room Tip: The Sombraje room has 2 queen beds & a semi-private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We "bid" on the Willow room at la Casa and reserved it only a couple of weeks in advance. We arrived to find a beautiful, well-situated B&B close to downtown Taos but peaceful and quiet, with doves cooing in the trees. They had already spread out the evening wine-and-hors-d'oeuvres, which was delicious. To our surprise, the wonderful owners had upgraded us (it was our delayed honeymoon) to the Library suite, which was the actual old library of the complex and one of the nicest rooms either of us has ever stayed in - and we're both frequent travelers. The room was elegant, comfortable, and had many great details (champagne! huge jet tub! chocolate and juices!). The staff gave us some excellent recommendations for exploring Taos, where we had a great time. Breakfast in the morning was a fantastic meal prepared fresh in front of our eyes. I wish we could have stayed for longer - but we'll be back!

Room Tip: Library suite was amaazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I stayed here a year ago and just received an email detailing their new, "modified evening service. In response to guest feedback they are serving bountiful hors d'oeuvres and nibbles from 5 - 6:30 instead of soup and salad suppers."
Good job on listening to customer feedback - I'm sure this will add a very nice touch to anyone's stay.

Stayed: May 2011
Thank Blueskyandsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.5 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 14 in Taos
1,293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
1.5 mi away
Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Marquesa

Address: 405 Cordoba, Taos, NM 87571-6571 (Formerly Casa de las Chimeneas)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $190 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Marquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio de Marquesa is 2 1/2 blocks from the historic center of town, Taos Plaza. Built on 7/10 of an acre with a high wall and seventeen large trees around the perimeter, it seems secluded and apart from the bustle of town, yet is close to all the historic sites, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio de Marquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Chimeneas Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing