We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and relaxing place to visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio de Marquesa
Ranked #7 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“A beautiful and relaxing place to visit.”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Casa de las Chimeneas for two nights and loved it! It was a beautiful oasis in the midst of Taos and the people who work at the Inn couldn't be friendlier! We will certainly return the next time we visit New Mexico.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    28
    0
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
137
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Had a great weekend in Taos, the room was huge, and very well thought out.
A fully stocked refrigerator, with free beverages, a private patio, every detail was well executed. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My boys (13 & 5) & I had a wonderful stay as we discovered Toas & the surrounding area for the first time. The room (Sombraje) was perfect, very comfortable & spacious. The staff anticipated our needs & met them beyond my expectations. We loved playing games & reading on the patio & walking through the garden to discover new flowers & plants. My 5 yr old enjoyed playing hide-n-seek in the garden even after a long day of hiking.
My 12 yr old says the best part was the delicious food & all the games to choose from.
I enjoyed the walks to the plaza, the quiet relaxing gardens for reading as well as the mint-infused hot baths in a very spacious jet tub at the end of each day. The breakfasts were excellent (Thank-you Rosie & Loraine), thoughtfully prepared, and the evening light fare was graciously modified to be kid-friendly (thank you Michele & Brian).
I look forward to staying again...maybe in the winter or fall when we can enjoy hot cocoa around the fireplace & a snow covered mountain.
Thanks to all for making our back to school retreat a very pleasant trip. =)

Room Tip: The Sombraje room has 2 queen beds & a semi-private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We "bid" on the Willow room at la Casa and reserved it only a couple of weeks in advance. We arrived to find a beautiful, well-situated B&B close to downtown Taos but peaceful and quiet, with doves cooing in the trees. They had already spread out the evening wine-and-hors-d'oeuvres, which was delicious. To our surprise, the wonderful owners had upgraded us (it was our delayed honeymoon) to the Library suite, which was the actual old library of the complex and one of the nicest rooms either of us has ever stayed in - and we're both frequent travelers. The room was elegant, comfortable, and had many great details (champagne! huge jet tub! chocolate and juices!). The staff gave us some excellent recommendations for exploring Taos, where we had a great time. Breakfast in the morning was a fantastic meal prepared fresh in front of our eyes. I wish we could have stayed for longer - but we'll be back!

Room Tip: Library suite was amaazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthWest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I stayed here a year ago and just received an email detailing their new, "modified evening service. In response to guest feedback they are serving bountiful hors d'oeuvres and nibbles from 5 - 6:30 instead of soup and salad suppers."
Good job on listening to customer feedback - I'm sure this will add a very nice touch to anyone's stay.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Blueskyandsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We loved the location of Casa de las Chimeneas, the room was exquisite, with a delightful breakfast each morning. The walk to the center of town was only minutes. This B&B is nestled in a beautiful residential neighborhood with tall trees and quaint homes near by. Our room had a steam shower, king bed, wet bar, whirlpool tub, and was overall a gorgeous well decorated room. We had a couples massage in our room which was heavenly. The entire B&B felt of quality and the staff made us feel extra special for being there. We toured the other rooms and thought they were all beautiful. We will certainly be back. Our new favorite place in Taos!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talltravelsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Oh. My. Gawd. We had the most wonderful stay in the Territorial Room this past weekend, and look forward to visiting again… maybe the Rio Grande Room next time?

Thank you and your staff SO VERY MUCH… for the friendliness, hospitality, and amazing service. It was a wonderful feeling knowing we can relax in the quiet, but also have the option of picking up the phone to ask for help – breakfast in bed?? WOW… dinner reservation help? AWESOME… Finding a massage therapist at the last minute? DONE!

The breakfasts were delicious, the room romantic, beautiful and relaxing...
It was … a fabulous time! The room was a most pleasant surprise (the photos online don’t do it justice) – large, bright, tall, tall ceilings, beautiful bathroom… just perfect!

We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SParks505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.5 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.0 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Marquesa

Property: Palacio de Marquesa
Address: 405 Cordoba, Taos, NM 87571-6571 (Formerly Casa de las Chimeneas)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Marquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio de Marquesa is 2 1/2 blocks from the historic center of town, Taos Plaza. Built on 7/10 of an acre with a high wall and seventeen large trees around the perimeter, it seems secluded and apart from the bustle of town, yet is close to all the historic sites, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Palacio de Marquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Chimeneas Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing