We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Olde Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Owners Tom and Barbara are great people and try to make everyone comfortable. Rooms are well maintained, clean, and quiet. The best and biggest breakfasts I have had anywhere. Great afternoon tea if you are around. Walking distance to main square. Staff is very helpful. We look forward to many returns.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Casa Benavides Historic Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Awesome little b&b friendly staff great breakfast. Had a couple of issues in room heat was on when arrived and tv remote wasn't working but both were dealt with by the staff. Wifi only in lobby, parking a little away from room. Very quaint and lovely

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank ejdb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Making the reservations was easy and the staff was very helpful to get me the room I needed. The property overall is outstanding, it is very well maintained and you really know you're in Taos. The afternoon tea and desserts is a great idea and we loved it. The breakfast was excellent, it did get crowded though and we had to wait for about 15 minutes so if you get there late be ready for that. The food is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed just one night in June in the Chimayo room. The property itself is lovely. Everything I love about Southwest homes. From the outside to the lovely interiors with the tiles and artwork. I confess though that I was slightly disappointed by our room. I had booked the cheapest room though to try and save some pennies on our road trip, so maybe that is my expectations being too high! The room was accessible via a corridor from the outside veranda. It was small and dark. A view of the neighbours yard. At first the AC didn't work and there was no lightbulb in the closet. The bathroom was tiny with nowhere to put your things so our wash bags went on the floor. We didn't mind too much though as we were only staying one night and it was all about the location.


We were invited to have afternoon tea but we went to explore instead. The plaza is a short walk of about 5 minutes. Many bars and restaurants to choose from and there was live music when we were there- I think this is every Thursday in summer. Worth going to with a great atmosphere.

The breakfast was immense! The dining room where it is held is gorgeous and I want a kitchen like theirs! The ladies serving the breakfast were nice too. We were offered so many things. Home made sticky granola, yoghurt, peaches, muffins, juice, then a cooked breakfast (!). We had the Mexican offering of a large, no huge, slab of a kind of omelette with green chile. Tasty but way too much for breakfast! I could have eaten it for dinner!

Would recommend based on location but not our room. From the website there are many nicer rooms on offer.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EssJayWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was comfortable, quaint and in a great location. Breakfast was good but it was the 2 lovely ladies that made homemade muffins that made the experience at breakfast so marvellous. Service and staff were great, it was quiet, the bed was comfy and the ambling property was wonderful.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eljayVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I can confidently give the inn the title of the very best in Taos, because it was the best accommodations I have ever experienced in all of my travels ....for multiple reasons. To begin with, one feels as if they were living in an exquisite New Mexican estate, surrounded by antiques and stunning paintings. However, the charming décor is exceeded by the spectacular service by the owners and staff who treated us all with such concern and care, we felt as if we were each personal guests.. It wasn't an easy thing to do as we numbered 24 in our art workshop. The location couldn't have been better..easy walking distance to the plaza, art galleries, and restaurants. We stayed a week and we all wish it could have been longer. I highly recommend the inn for groups and of course individual stays. You won't find a better place or better hosts..

Room Tip: One of the charms of the inn is the individualized décor of each of their rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy_Sarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

No other B&B in Taos can top this place per dollar spent. The staff has obviously been trained to be attentive to the smallest detail whether it be a minor inconvenience in the middle of the night to the splendid breafast served with the apparently healthiest options in mind, to the mattresses and comforters in all their rooms (I have stayed in four different ones). I pan to return next summer and possibly earlier perhaps even for Christmas if I retire sooner than planned. The fact that this B&B has kept prices reasonable are a testament to the owners philosophy who obviously place service before profit.

Room Tip: There are no bad choices
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Benavides Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Benavides Historic Inn

Address: 137 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-5949
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $147 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a leisurely stroll of Taos Plaza, Casa Benavides is situated in the heart of Taos. Experience all the enchanted beauty, energy, shopping, Southwest cuisine, and Native culture Taos has to offer. The Casa Benavides Inn has 38 unique rooms, featuring Southwestern furnishings and artwork. A delectable selection of homemade cookies and cakes are included with the complimentary afternoon tea. The scrumptious breakfast has been a favorite of Inn guests for nearly 30 years. Located 2 blocks from Taos Plaza, 3 miles from historic Taos Pueblo, and 20 miles from Taos Ski Valley. Complimentary WI-FI internet access is available in every guest room and throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Casa Benavides Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Benavides Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing