We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt right at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Casa Benavides is unforgettable. From the warm blue and pueblo style exterior to the cosy and unique rooms, you really feel at home. The staff and owners are wonderful, and the breakfast is amazing, best muesli ever!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozsilversun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 250 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

The breakfast was complimentary so I wasn't expecting much. I went to the dining room and was sat at a table with granola, yogurt, coffee, tea, a selection of muffins, milk, orange juice and sliced peaches.
I was pretty stuffed after I finished when the sweetest woman in the world came up and asked me if I was ready for my breakfast and would I like the egg casserole or the french toast.
I ate like a king. I'm definitely going back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

After researching most of the hotels, inns and B&Bs in Taos we settled on Casa Benavides Inn based on other Trip Advisor reviews.

We’re glad we did.

We called the inn directly and booked the Acoma room located in a separate building from the main building. The room featured a queen bed and small patio.

Our check-in with Tessy was both easy and friendly.

The inn features 37 rooms and is located one block from the main Taos Plaza.
Parking is pretty easy, but check-in is done through the back door.
The main inn is spacious and clean, and very reminiscent of a Navajo inn from a bygone era.

Our room provided ample space for the three of us, a clean bathroom, and a comfy bed. Extras included a small TV, and a reclining Lazy-Boy chair. The staff had also already set-up the Pack n’ Play that we had requested, and included extra linens including baby blankets. They also had turned on the heat for us as it was the dead of winter and a high of 30 F.

The hot breakfast served-to-order each morning was substantial and scrumptious. Muffins, homemade granola, French toast, waffles and fresh squeezed orange juice are just a few of the samplings.

Note: It would have been great if our room would have had a mini-fridge hidden in the armoire under our TV. Bathtub could have also used some remodeling.

Would recommend: Definitely
Would return to: Definitely if returning to Taos

Room Tip: First floor or second floor options. Most rooms have small patios. They have a clean pack n' p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

On October 14, 2012 my husband and I stayed in the "Cowboy Room" for one night. Nicely decorated and located in an old house just across the road from the Inn. The old house consists of individual theme rooms. This is just one of the properties that makes up the Inn. What I liked about our room is that we had a real wood burning adobe fireplace complete with wood provided by management. The accomodations were clean, quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. I loved looking up at the stars through the skylight located over our bed. In fact, even the bathroom had a skylight. Very energy efficient. The main Inn provided refreshments in the afternoon (an afternoon tea) and a wonderful cooked breakfast in the morning. There is no way you are going to go away hungry. Plus, the staff is really friendly and fun to converse with. My husband and I were really pleased with our stay. I highly recommend staying here. Total cost with taxes= $186.76

Casa Benavides Inn is located just down the block from the historic Kit Carson Home & Museum and a very easy walking distance to and from the plaza. You are also very close to the Taos Inn and Doc Martin's Restaurant. You know what they say, location, location, location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tumblentumbleweeds58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

B&B is a 2 min walk to Taos downtown-square filled with shops, restaurants, and other goodies. Breakfast is gourmet, healthy, and delish!! Innkeepers/owners/staff are all friendly and helpful. Would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uyen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

the good: The employees were really nice and breakfast was great. The room was large. Close to town square and restaurants. The bad: rundown furnishings and dirty, dirty bathroom. Yech, wanted to shower again after showering. Plenty of someone else's hair in the tub and lots of mold/mildew. A hair on the hand towel as well. Had to stand on the bed to turn on the ceiling fan. Only one window would open and the "ac" unit was a portable one like grandma had in the 60's. I didn't research this one but I have to believe if I came back to Taos there would be better options.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank dlpcyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Location is one block from the town square. Rooms are nice. Owners and staff could not be more helpful. Breakfast and their afternoon "tea" with deserts were "out of this world." My wife and I bicycled the Enchanted Circle. The breakfast was spectacular, healthy and great energy for the trip. Stayed there another night when we finished.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Benavides Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Benavides Historic Inn

Address: 137 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-5949
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $146 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a leisurely stroll of Taos Plaza, Casa Benavides is situated in the heart of Taos. Experience all the enchanted beauty, energy, shopping, Southwest cuisine, and Native culture Taos has to offer. The Casa Benavides Inn has 38 unique rooms, featuring Southwestern furnishings and artwork. A delectable selection of homemade cookies and cakes are included with the complimentary afternoon tea. The scrumptious breakfast has been a favorite of Inn guests for nearly 30 years. Located 2 blocks from Taos Plaza, 3 miles from historic Taos Pueblo, and 20 miles from Taos Ski Valley. Complimentary WI-FI internet access is available in every guest room and throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Benavides Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Benavides Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing