We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in an Historic Site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My wife and I and friends stayed labor Day weekend 2011. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the breakfasts each morning. The grounds were very pretty and maintained. Overall a great stay for all three couples. We go to Taos to ride motorcycles every Labor Day weekend and will look forward to staying here again. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ldj327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 251 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

We recently spent a few nights at this Historic Inn in the San Tomas room and very much enjoyed our stay. The inn is located just two blocks from the main plaza and within a short walking distance to the shops on Bent Street, so we only needed our car to explore the many shops in neighboring Prado. We found our room to be quite large, comfortable and beautifully decorated with authentic furnishings and the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ample and included a choice of mexican eggs (red or green chile) or french toast in addition to muffins, pastries, fruit, cereal and the usual extras. All in all, we were more than pleased with all aspects of our stay and plan to return to this beautiful inn on our next trip to Taos. Oh, one small complaint. I would like to see the owners do this gorgeous room justice by replacing the chintzy curtains with something more fitting.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westernhauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My cousin and I were visiting various places in New Mexico, and we were staying at a lovely B & B in Santa Fe. (That is another story.) One morning, we talked with a couple who recommended Casa Benavides when they found out that we were going to Taos. They said that it was easy to find, and the food was wonderful! We called and made reservations, and our stay there became one of the nicest parts of our trip. Tom and Barbara McCarthy, the owners, were wonderful hosts, and we had a great time! We needed two beds, so we stayed in John's room which is attached to their home, a couple of doors down and an easy walk from the inn. There was a private entrance and space for parking. Our room was huge, and the beds were comfortable. We had a lovely fireplace and a tiled bathroom with a tub/shower combination. The rug between the beds was magnificant, and the pictures on the wall were historic. Although there was a lot to do in Taos, we made certain that we were available for the breakfast and afternoon tea. The food was plentiful, delicious, and homemade. We can't thank the couple from Detroit enough for their recommendation, and we hope to return to the inn the next time we are in Taos.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryCousininIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

My wife and I had a very nice stay just after Christmas. The room was "cowboy rustic" and very comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. All of the staff were friendly and very accomodating. The Inn is very close to the plaza and restuarants.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdbair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Casa Benvides on Kit Carson Road is a wonderful place that is off the radar. We drove up to Taos, parked the car in their parking lot and didn't have to use it for the rest of our stay. Walked to the plaza, restaurants and to transportation to the mountain. The rooms are charming, the breakfast is great and afternoon tea is a delightful sweet break. Lots of art and antiques. This place is genuine. The owners are present and helpful. The prices are reasonable and they have a variety of accommodations: suites to small rooms. We chose two small rooms for our family.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank martingales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Recently went to Taos for a mini vacation. I had not been there in over 40 years it was nice to get back and to see how much it had changed. As for my stay, it was my first time ever in a B&B what an awesome experience. I would have to say, I would do it again in a heart beat. The only hickup wasthat the power was out when my friends and I arrived, this was due to the high winds in the area; other than that it was wonderful, every one of the staff were very attentive. The breakfast was very tasty and of course every afternoon the had tea and baked goods for those travelers who have a insatiable sweet tooth. If and when I'm in Taos again I will definately stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokyhill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Taos is an incredible area and this B&B was a good find for us. It's a convenient location to serve as a base for walking, shopping and more lengthy excursions. Comfy bed and good water pressure. Pleasant staff and good service. YUMMY breakfast! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilwGonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 14 in Taos
1,293 reviews
1 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
542 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Benavides Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Benavides Historic Inn

Address: 137 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-5949
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $102 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a leisurely stroll of Taos Plaza, Casa Benavides is situated in the heart of Taos. Experience all the enchanted beauty, energy, shopping, Southwest cuisine, and Native culture Taos has to offer. The Casa Benavides Inn has 38 unique rooms, featuring Southwestern furnishings and artwork. A delectable selection of homemade cookies and cakes are included with the complimentary afternoon tea. The scrumptious breakfast has been a favorite of Inn guests for nearly 30 years. Located 2 blocks from Taos Plaza, 3 miles from historic Taos Pueblo, and 20 miles from Taos Ski Valley. Complimentary WI-FI internet access is available in every guest room and throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Benavides Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Benavides Historic Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing