We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Outdoor Adventure”

Wild Earth Llama Adventures
Ranked #1 of 18 Outdoor Activities in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Llama Trekking Adventures in New Mexico's Pristine Wilderness! "Take a Llama to Lunch!" Wilderness Day Hikes Multi-Day Wilderness Adventures Custom Wilderness Events What's Llama Trekking? Llama Trekking is Hiking and Camping with our team of eco-friendly trail llamas, in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains and Rio Grande Gorege, near Taos and Santa Fe, New Mexico. On the trail, our gentle surefooted llamas carry the gear, leaving you unburdened to experience the natural beauty and inspiring solitude of the New Mexico wilderness. Experienced Naturalist Guides share information about local ecology, natural history, regional folklore, and wilderness skills. Backcountry Gourmet Meals are served on all of our New Mexico wilderness trips. All ages and fitness levels are welcome! Call us to answer any questions of to make reservations!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Fabulous Outdoor Adventure”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Surrounded by awesome beauty and in the company of the delightful and adorable llamas, this trip will be unforgettable. Our guide, Stuart, told us about the rocks, plants, wildlife and about the history of the area that we were hiking in (Columbine Wilderness in the Carson National Forest).
If you love nature, you will be in good company with Stuart and his llamas. I Highly recommend this adventure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, TN
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“A Very Special Day Hike with Llamas!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We drove from Santa Fe to Questa (North of Taos) via the Low Road (Highway 68), a 2 hour 15 minute drive with restroom stop at the Rio Grande Gorge Visitor Center for a Thursday "Take a Llama to Lunch" Day Hike. This hike started at the Columbine Campground. We had to be at Questa at 10:30 a.m. to get acquainted with llamas before our actual hiking. There are no restroom facilities during this day adventure, so be prepared to head to the woods and pack out you toilet paper, if needed. Stuart Wilde, the owner, guide, naturalist, and llama expert provides toilet paper, baggies, and hand sanitizer for your needs. He also provides your healthy, filling lunch for the day. The actual hiking takes place from 11:00-3:30. We had only 5 adults, plus Stuart, and 5 llamas (all rescues) in our group. The hiking takes place over mostly gently rolling terrain with lush woodsy scenery, probably no more than 4 miles total. There is a tricky shallow stream crossing that requires some rock-hopping. But Stuart gets into the water to help you across, plus he allows you to use a pair of trekking poles to assist your crossing. At the midway point of the hike, lunch is provided in a clearing with a stream nearby. It was a gorgeous, sunny, warm day. We had received an e-mail as to what to bring in terms of clothing and water and directions to the trailhead. The llamas carried our day packs and water. You hold onto your llama's rope while walking; they actually walk behind you. We made our reservations about 5 days ahead of time, after we were certain the weather would be nice. But you have to be flexible, if you do that, since Friday was not available, so we went on a Thursday. This is a small family owned business and Stuart does a great job with this excursion! It is well worth your money spent! He has many more rescued llamas that he cares for. I highly recommend a llama day hike or overnight trip with Stuart & Leah Wilde's Wild Earth Llama Adventures. I just wish we had stayed a few nights in Taos; it's such a beautiful area with many hikes I would have liked to try.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TNKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Llamas,laughter,love and lunch”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had such a good time on this adventure.While our hike was not as far/strenuous as I had thought/hoped it would be due to one of the others in our group I still would do it over again!Great way to experience the outdoors and spend time with some truly loveable creatures and we met some lovely people as well. This experience was a highlight of our trip to Taos.Stuart clearly has a lot of love not only for his rescued llamas, but for the environment to which he introduces you, and it's infectious.If we ever find ourselves back in the area,we will doing it again and bringing our friends.Well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Go have lunch with a llama!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Spend the day hiking in the pristine outdoors with awesome company - Stuart and his llamas. Stuart is tremendouly interesting and intellectual and gives you a history lesson about the land, plants, trees, and wildlife. Stuart's llamas are as sweet as can be and are happy to carry your gear up the mountain so that you can enjoy a nice picnic in the forest. Great way to experience the outdoors and spend time with some truly loveable creatures. This experience was a highlight of our trip to Taos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Can I keep my llama?”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I will confess that my wife had to sell me on this idea, but the entire experience was wonderful. I am not the most outdoorsy of people, but this was a great time. Despite being rescues, the llamas were docile and friendly. Mine (named K2) was quite expressive, and made hilarious noises during the whole trip. Stuart truly has a staggering amount of knowledge about the surroundings, and does a great job of informing his guests regarding the flora, fauna, and the human influence on the area. He clearly has a lot of love not only for the llamas, but for the environment to which he introduces you, and it's infectious. A unique and enthralling time that shouldn't be missed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Earth Llama Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Wild Earth Llama Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing