We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Toy Store!!!!!”
Review of Twirl

Twirl
Ranked #2 of 61 Shopping in Taos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A play and discovery space with a free outdoor playground featuring climbing installations, water and sand play areas, hobbit treehouse, ride-ons, a community playroom offering free classes, activities, events and interactive installations, and a gift shop selling educational toys and games.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This toy store is awesome!

We make special trips to Taos when we go on vacation to New Mexico just to take the kids to this place. This store is amazing. It has toys that you wouldn't usually find in the normal chain toy store.

The other attraction is their outdoor play area. Not only is there water play, but there is an wonderful outdoor climbing area. It has bouncing floors, swings, a bridge that goes across the play area below and then a huge slide they go down to do it all over again. There is also an out door fort play area that has a swing bridge and slide. Everywhere you turn there is something different. There are even seats for the parents to set to watch the kids explore!

This particular time we went to Twirl they had one of their daily activities going on. The kids had a blast!

I would highly recommend this place for anyone that is going to Taos or will be w/in driving distance. You kids and you will enjoy every minute of it.

Thank MandMBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrs_twirl, Manager at Twirl, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Creating a magical experience full of surprises is what we strive for here at Twirl, so it's particularly nice that you recognize our efforts to do this. We're very happy that Twirl is on your list of "must-sees" when you're visiting the area, and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience so that others can learn about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

Imagine a toy store that has two extensive outdoor play areas - including a large, colorful play structure, room to ride around on little vehicles, a huge pirate ship, sand yard, a fountain stream for floating boats, and plenty of seating for adults. Add a remarkable indoor space where children can play with building toys and dance around in front of mirrors while parents sip tea in an exotic east-meets-west space. Throw in some concerts and weekly Saturday morning arts and crafts events. Oh yeah, and so far, this is all free (although donations are accepted and appreciated.)
And then there is the toy store itself with such a dazzling array of high-quality, imaginative, and stimulating toys that it can make your head spin. There is something irresistible here for anyone who is young or young at heart. Although high quality toys command (gulp!) prices, a child with even the most modest of allowances will be able to afford a little something. Ask at the register for a wishing stone to cast into the wishing pond (but don't aim at the Koi!)
On a recent visit to Taos we visited Twirl on four occasions in seven days. I brought along my adult, childless brother once, and he was as floored as any child. Taos is full of surprises - the artistic and the silly, the ancient and the futuristic, the serene and the boisterous - and Twirl magnifies each of these in unique and wonderful ways.

Thank rousseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrs_twirl, Manager at Twirl, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

What a lovely review. It's sometimes hard to capture what Twirl is all about, but you've done it beautifully! Your review really brings alive the essence of Twirl. Thank you for taking the time to write it and for sharing your experience with others. All our staff really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We are so thankful this place exists! The toys inside are really good quality toys and the playspace outside is unbelievable. My two kids, ages 2 and 5, have spent hours and hours and hours playing there. I leave a donation every time and sometimes a little extra to do my part to make sure Twirl is still there next time we come into town. Love it love it love it!!!

Thank WooHooTavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrs_twirl, General Manager at Twirl, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Hi there, and we are so grateful for you, too! Thank you sincerely for your review, and your support. I love hearing that parents find our toys to be of good quality- it's very encouraging! We will certainly be here for your next visit, and look forward to it. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

While staying in Angel Fire we searched for a variety of activities for our family of three young girls to do. Luckily, we found Twirl in one of the Taos Vacation Guides. It's hard to believe that a store has put together a free playground than can entertain a wide age range like this one. When our girls first walked in the gate they were amazed. The upstairs playroom is an additionally cool space that we are glad we wandered into. The toy store itself would be impressive, but when you add in the outside area it's hands down the coolest place for kids in Taos.

Thank CaptDefeated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrs_twirl, General Manager at Twirl, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Hello!
I so appreciate your taking the time to write this marvelous review, and also appreciate knowing that the vacation guide helped you find us. It's sometimes difficult to know how best to let families just like yours know about us. It's also great to hear that your children of varying ages all enjoyed their time here. We certainly love meeting new families! Thanks much for your visit, and your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We found this place to be really exceptional (we currently live in a smallish city, Austin, but we have lived in and traveled to many big cities.) I can only think that the negative reviewer didn't have children (?) because our two daughters (ages 6 an 8) were absolutely in love with this store--the outdoor play space is incredible and the staff was great; it was such fun to find a place where our kids could climb, play, run around--i have never before encountered a toy store that creates a huge place for kids to play and climb for free. We loved it and found the toys to be great--ranging from educational to silly and fun...a great selection. I never write reviews but I felt compelled to because of the negative review-- we couldn't have had a more opposite reaction/experience.

1  Thank AustinMom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrs_twirl, Manager at Twirl, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

I especially appreciate you taking the time to write this review, considering that you say you don't usually. We're as just as happy that you found us, and thrilled that your time here added to your vacation. We're flattered by your comments, and certainly hope you find occasion to visit again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twirl also viewed

 

Been to Twirl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing