We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the epicenters of the early Taos art movement”
Review of Taos Art Museum

Taos Art Museum
Ranked #17 of 100 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Taos's newest museum, opened in 1994, has a collection of works by early members of the Taos Society of Artists never seen before by the public.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Tucson
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the epicenters of the early Taos art movement”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Enjoy some of the art that put Taos on the map as a premier artist colony. The Museum is the home of one of the early artists, Nicolai Fechin. The home itself is a masterpiece with some original furnishings. Set back from the main road through Taos, it is a quiet oasis while still walking distance to the Plaza. Don't miss the Gift Shop with some fabulous art for sale.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    52
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson,AZ
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Trick Me Once, Shame on Me”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We visited the museum on the week before their big silent auction gala. We were charged the full museum admission but not told that the vast majority of the art we just be items submitted by local artist to be bid on at the auction. Most of the permanent collection had been removed for the event. I have not problem with the local works that were up for bid. I do have a problem with being charged a regular admission or being charged at all for for this occasion. It's probably a decent museum. This treatment left a very bad taste in my mouth.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maranasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Artwork”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is the original home of Nickoli Fechin with both his work and local art. Beautiful home and amazing artwork. There are both male and female nude works so please be advised for children who may not be able to handle it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Superb423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very sad.”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The historic paintings were nowhere to be found. We were told they were either in storage or on tour. Go to Parson's gallery to see a nice selection.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank artsatdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Museum hopping”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a very wonderful way to spend the hot afternoons in the summer sun. Stay cool and dig the incredible art

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DenwaTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Taos Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing