We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartbeat of the southwest”
Review of Casa Gallina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Gallina
Ranked #1 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Jacksonville, FL
13
Reviewed January 30, 2006

Bed and breakfast never felt so good! My sister and I stayed at Casa Gallina Memorial Day weekend 2005 and I was surprised and pleased at the relaxing atmosphere and ambience of a southwest home with a “palais de poulet” in the backyard. Everything in the casa is designed to make you feel the steady heartbeat of the southwest. And we did. After seeing all the sights of Taos and the surrounding area it was so good to come “home” to the casa, kick off our shoes, take a shower, grab a glass of wine and sit on the patio and listen to the songs of the birds and the interesting clucking conversations of the hens as they pecked and perused the back yard. We quickly learned our way around with the guidance of Richard, (who is a wonderful host!) and made trips down to the local grocers to pick up fresh foods to prepare in the well organized kitchen at the casa. We also had fresh eggs from those hens! We had one of Richard’s scrumptious breakfasts and I won’t tell what it was because it would spoil the surprise of anyone who might get a repeat of this edible work of art. Richard’s 3 dogs were so well mannered and sweet we just wanted to take them home with us. Richard made us feel welcome and well cared for without ever intruding on our privacy and I signed up for one of his massages that left me saying Ahhhh! And smiling and wishing I never had to leave. Sis and I left relaxed, refreshed, regenerated and spiritually renewed. We are planning our return trip now as I write this note.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for Casa Gallina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 436 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2006

We just stayed at Casa Gallina January 2006. We had tried to stay two other times but it was always booked. Finally, we got to experience Richard's charm and beautiful creations of home away from home.

I have already booked another week in July. Here are the highlights of staying at Casa Gallina with Richard as your host:

*Colors and warmth--I felt the energy as soon as we pulled in his driveway...however, upon entering the door of Casa Gallina....wow...what style and grace Richard created his "homes" with....one sees it and feels it right away.

*Wine and food await one on the kitchen counter--pear stuffed with blue cheese, hardboiled eggs from his chickens, figs, olives, wine....Yum--what a welcome!

*Flannel sheets--terra cotta colored--Now, I have slept on flannels before--however, these were the nubbiest, most comfortable flannels and I didn't want to leave the bed...I have been trying to duplicate the feel and color since returning home and so far, no luck.

*Incredible music....the stereo system is loaded with music choices

*Peace and quiet--it is about 5 minutes from town...NICE!

*Breakfast is heavenly--homemade tamales with eggs from his chickens, fresh-squeezed juice--fresh, out of the oven, almond raspberry muffins, avocados, cappucinos, roaring fire, did I already mention this is my favorite place?

*Book Talk--Enjoyed talking with Richard about his favorite books

*Pays attention--Our daughter traveled with us and she had just had surgery. He was very attentive to her needs and went out of his way to make sure she was comfortable.

*Massages--Richard is famous for his massages--he just doesn't give one a massage--he "yoga-dances" with one's body on the table. He does all the work and all one has to do is yield to the beauty of the movement of his amazing energy.

I am returning.

Thank you, Richard, for everything.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2005

Can't wait to return -- it was absolutely wonderful. From the beautiful and comfortable decor to the homemade Christmas cookies, our host, Richard, and Casa Gallina helped make this truly one of the nicest holidays we've ever experienced. Our 8 and 11 year old girls loved feeding the chickens and checking for fresh eggs each morning, and adored our host's three friendly canine companions -- Bobo, Girlie, and Canella. It was a convenient location to skiing, shopping, and gallery browsing, and only a few minutes to the storied plaza. And sitting on the porch sipping coffee each morning, looking out at the mountains was a truly relaxing and peaceful treat.
Mona, Drake, Kate, & Emma
Dallas, TX.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank PhotoJDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2005

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh
12
Reviewed November 13, 2005

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2005

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ruggedcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver
12
Reviewed October 16, 2005

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.2 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,183 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.6 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
746 reviews
2.4 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,252 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gallina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gallina

Address: 613 Callejon Rd, Taos, NM 87571-5144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $239 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Gallina 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of town in a quiet, pastoral setting, Casa Gallina's three gorgeous adobe casitas offer an oasis of home for visitors exploring the Taos area. Spacious, charming and just a five minute drive to historic Taos Plaza, each casita is decorated and appointed with furniture, art, antiques, and textiles from New Mexico, Old Mexico and the world over. Casa Gallina feels truly like your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Casa Gallina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing