We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We dream of returning here!”
Review of Casa Gallina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Gallina
Ranked #1 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

When our fave hotel in Taos was sold to corporate chain and declined thereafter, we looked around and found this gem. Stayed here in February of 2012 and just thought to review it when planning our next Taos visit (TA site won't let me go that far back, but we found Casa Gallina on TA). Richard wasn't home when we arrived, but he'd left snacks, beverages, and a personal welcome note. We had corresponded with him leading up to our arrival, and his directions were perfect. When he saw that our curtains were opened the next morning, he knocked and greeted us with all the info needed PLUS some pastries and eggs. When Richard wasn't busy (rare), he showed us the chickens and his other casitas, which were even more impressive than ours. He puts his blood, sweat, tears, and his own labor into the art of hospitality. Our bungalow included full kitchen with basic cooking supplies and a few stock groceries, including the frequent delivery of fresh eggs. Upstairs: bedroom (queen), bathroom (spacious enough), and porch with a hammock (declined to use in cold February). Downstairs: living room with satellite tv, couch, fireplace, mini-desk, and kitchen with quaint table seating. Wi-fi worked better downstairs. Richard was kind enough to let us use the laundry machines two steps outside our door to wash our ski clothes before leaving (no charge). The location is not near the action of Taos, but we go to Taos to ski so Casa Gallina is fine for us. Clean, private, perfect for those wanting more conveniences than hotels.

Room Tip: Ask Richard what the options are. He'll know best where you fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebunnyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 443 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at Casa Gallina for our anniversary. What a perfect choice. Richard is a wonderful host. We were greeted with a bottle of wine and antipasti on our arrival. The casita was so comfortable and decorated with New Mexico charm. The kitchenette was nicely supplied with basic items and of course the girls provide fresh eggs daily. There is a wonderful market in town, Cid's, to pick up whatever you might want. At first we were unsure of the location because it is somewhat on the edge of town, but quickly realized the quiet was wonderful. It is only a few minutes drive into the center of things. Richard gave excellent recommendations for dining, shopping and touring. I would have liked maid service to make up the bed, but fluffing the comforter just took a minute or two. If we can return to Taos someday we will definitely be staying at Casa Gallina. Thank you Richard!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This place cannot be any better! Richard is an outstanding host, warm and welcoming just like his beautiful property. I have stayed at hotels and Inns all over the world, and this is one of the best experiences I have ever had. This is place is a true New Mexican classic, and I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We rented the casita for a girlfriends getaway - very spacious, full kitchen, beautiful and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simba432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Casa Gallina really is as lovely and special a place as all the other reviewers have said it is, and Richard is a really wonderful host. Our casita was absolutely charming, and comfortable and beautifully appointed, and it felt like "home" from just about the first minute we arrived. From the lovely bottle of wine and antipasti waiting for us when we arrived, to Richard's restaurant recommendations (all of which were great), to the homemade cupcakes awaiting us late one afternoon, it felt more like we were guests in a friend's home than that we were paying customers. I kidded Richard that he has a "cult following," and now I know why, and count me among them. We loved Taos as much as we loved Casa Gallina, and I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: My guess is that there isn't a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Casa Gallina is the most fantastic place I have stayed at in Taos. We rented the three bedroom casita and it was wonderful. The beds were cozy and comfortable and the courtyard was stunning!
Richard is an excellent host and entertaining as well. The chickens are a hoot, the highlight of our day was feeding them! It's a little off the beaten path but an easy drive into town and area attractions. You can feel the care and love Richard puts into the inn. The only thing I was disappointed in was that breakfast was not included, since it is listed as a B and B. But Richard does bring you fresh eggs everyday, you just have to drag yourself out of that cozy bed and cook them!!

Room Tip: The three bedroom casita, it's not that much more and the courtyard makes it worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Casa Gallina was the last stop on our trip through New Mexico and it was the perfect ending to our already amazing trip. The Barred Rock Adobe casita was just the right size for our family of four. The vibrant colors, textures and aromas immediately made us feel welcome and at home. We all found Casa Gallina to be magical and enchanting but our children, ages 7 and 10, had endless fun on the property. The beautiful gardens, the little stream and especially the chickens were so wonderful, the kids played outside at every opportunity -- we could have never ventured further and they would have been happy. They looked forward to waking up in the morning to see the chickens and help collect eggs. I think what is so special about Casa Gallina is that Richard has thought through every detail and possible need of his guests, that you start to feel as if you are really "home." I can't imagine what our experience of Taos would have been had we not stayed at Casa Gallina. We hope to return someday for another visit. Thanks To Richard, Shawn and Nate for everything.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in the Bantam Roost for two nights during our recent trip to Taos. Richard was a gracious host, welcomed us "home", and helped us to find wonderful restaurants in Taos such as Love Apple and Orlando's. He referred us to Cid's for our breakfast supplies, and we were right at home there as well. Feeding the "girls" in the morning was a real treat. They all clucked peacefully and helped us relax. Richard provided some treats to welcome us, made sure we were well supplied with fresh and delicious eggs, but otherwise was not in the way at all. We built a fire both nights to help keep the casita warm, and turned on the heater to take the edge off the cool temperatures. The stairs to the bedroom are somewhat steep, so it may not be for everyone, but we were fine with it. The décor is beautiful, with many whimsical touches that emphasized the "gallina" theme. There is a deck with a hammock, and a gazebo with a hammock on ground level.
It is located a few miles outside town, so you will need to drive to restaurants or tourist sites. It's not easy to find the first few times, as the "Callejon" street sign is more visible if you approach from the east than from the west.
We've stayed in many hotels and B&Bs in many locations, but this is undoubtedly one of our favorite places. It's just a shame that we only planned two nights at this special place. Now we know, and will plan better next time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.2 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,198 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
750 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
534 reviews
2.4 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gallina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gallina

Address: 613 Callejon Rd, Taos, NM 87571-5144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $240 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Gallina 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of town in a quiet, pastoral setting, Casa Gallina's three gorgeous adobe casitas offer an oasis of home for visitors exploring the Taos area. Spacious, charming and just a five minute drive to historic Taos Plaza, each casita is decorated and appointed with furniture, art, antiques, and textiles from New Mexico, Old Mexico and the world over. Casa Gallina feels truly like your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Casa Gallina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing