We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place couldn't be lovelier” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Gallina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Gallina
Ranked #1 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This place couldn't be lovelier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in some amazing places across the USA last summer but this one remains the firm favourite for the entire family. Richard is a fabulous host, warm and welcoming. From the gorgeous snacks awaiting us, to the beautifully decorated and comfortable house, everything he does makes you feel at home (though our home isn't as gorgeous as this). Encouraged to help with the chickens (and enjoy their eggs) and to help ourselves from the vegetable patch, we fell in love with Taos - and especially this little corner. Richard recommended a supermarket with local produce, an amazing restaurant (the Love Apple) that gave us the best meal we had anywhere in the USA in 4 weeks (and at the best table, too). There just wasn't a single thing that could have been any lovelier than Richard made it for us. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Barred Rock Adobe with 2 big double bedrooms - gorgeously decorated and really comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
204
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

A friend recommended Casa Gallina to us. We stayed in the Bantam Roost, a two story, 1 bedroom suitte, with living room, small dining room, kitchen, and one bath. The minute you wallk in you feel at home. Check the website out for photos of the interiors. I"ll just say that you can see and feel the love that Richard has put into the place -- the grounds are spacious, and ell tended. I'd definitely reocmmend this place to ANYONE visiting Taos as a place to stay. (Ok, it is not on the hightway, but that is what we liked about the place. A bit rural, but close to the hub and bub).

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

When you are driving to Casa Gallina, you may think that your GPS has gone haywire, leading you down dusty dirt and gravel roads. I assure you though there is an oasis at the end. Casa Gallina is a delightful collection of casitas, each one different and well-appointed. I do not remember the name of the one we stayed in (it was 2 story with the bedroom on the second floor) but it was great with a fully stocked kitchenette, complete with Richard's signature fresh eggs which are restocked every day. We very much enjoyed the wonderful wine and treats that awaited us on arrival. Richard spent as much time as we wanted to orient us to Taos (our first visit) and recommend restaurants and activities. Apparently he has been doing this long enough that he knows his guests well and was very perceptive about what we would enjoy. And we did. We will vcertainly stay there again.

I am about 6 feet, 1 inch tall. If you are any taller, you might want to get a casita with taller ceilings than ours. I had to duck in several places.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Richard is an amazing host and a very special person. Fresh eggs from his chickens - what could be better? We've stayed here many times and hope to do so many times in the future. Richard is constantly upgrading the property, which is already heavenly. Wait until you see the appetizer and wine spread that awaits you on your arrival - amazing and a great way to end the journey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband a I spent 3 nights in Barred Rock at Casa Gallina, and wished it could have been longer. Richard has created a jewel just outside town. It is difficult to imagine arriving and being greeted by such hospitality - snacks were set out on the kitchen island and Richard arrived within minutes to show us around, introduce us to the girls (and boy), and give us pointers on the best of Taos. We had memorable dinners at El Meze and Love Apple, and only wish they were closer to Toronto, as both are excellent!

Richard - please send your cookie recipe as I would like to try to re-create them in my kitchen.

When lucky enough to find an oasis like Casa Gallina, we don't know whether to yell about it from the top of the Gorge or whisper about it along a quiet deserted road!

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband, two children (ages 11 and 13), and I recently spent three wonderful nights at Casa Gallina. We stayed in the El Gallo casita which was so charming and cozy. Every morning and every evening we had a fire in the kiva fireplace in the kitchen. Although Taos has wonderful restaurants, we found ourselves wanting to eat in most of the time. Richard was a fabulous host, and provided us with delicious treats every day. He also brought us fresh eggs daily, which we all thoroughly enjoyed. The kids loved feeding the chickens and listening to the donkeys across the road every morning. Richard was so helpful in giving us information for the area, things to do, restaurants, best shuttle stop for Taos Ski Valley. This truly is a special place to stay if you are in the Taos area. I know it will hold a special place in our heart, and we hope we can return again some day.

Room Tip: The El Gallo casita was perfect for a family of four. Lots of room to spread out and have our own s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel59976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Casa Gallina, Richard and I are old friends. "Special" is a term we've come to coin that means something magical with respect to lodging. Some places have it, the overwhelming majority don't. Casa Gallina, thanks to Richard, has it in multiples of spades. I've sent clients and friends alike to Richard's slice of high desert Eden and they've all come back knowing what special means. Everything is impeccably designed and appointed, it radiates charm and I dare say magic. Tis one of the most restorative and delightful places I know of on earth. If you go I am supremely confident you'll gain a full flavor of what we mean when we say special.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong! But to be sure, the rooftop hammock in the Roost is a favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.1 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#3 of 23 in Taos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gallina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gallina

Property: Casa Gallina
Address: 613 Callejon Rd, Taos, NM 87571-5144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Gallina 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of town in a quiet, pastoral setting, Casa Gallina's three gorgeous adobe casitas offer an oasis of home for visitors exploring the Taos area. Spacious, charming and just a five minute drive to historic Taos Plaza, each casita is decorated and appointed with furniture, art, antiques, and textiles from New Mexico, Old Mexico and the world over. Casa Gallina feels truly like your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Gallina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing