We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest people in Taos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on the Rio
Ranked #12 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
1 review
“Nicest people in Taos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Jules and Robert are delightful Innkeepers. Their bed and breakfast is ideal for us. Neat , clean and well furnished. Breakfast is always a delightful surprise with conversation which helps everybody plan their days in Taos.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    39
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
37
93
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed at Inn on the Rio over the Labor Day weekend and it was delightful, as always. Jules and Robert are so welcoming, the homemade breakfast is so convenient and tasty, the pool and hot tub never crowded and surrounded by beautiful gardens. It is true that the Inn is more of a restored 50s motor court but that is the reason that the landscaping is mature, the pool is large for the number of rooms, and each guest has their privacy as well as common spaces to gather. If you crave these amenities as well as a more-rural surrounding this is the Inn for you. We've stayed in hotels on the main drag through Taos and that feels isolating. This feels like home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMNatureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

This was a wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle of every day life. The room was cozy, the bed comfortable and the owners made us feel like long time friends. Great over all experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoMusicMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Very plesent stay with inn keepers that are a joy to know. Toas was a wonderful place to spend our anniversy

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REWestlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

The Inn on the Rio in Taos is a hidden treasure. it is just a few minutes out of the main part of town but near everything. They have a lovely pool, garden and hot tub and the breakfast is delicious. The room was clean and comfortable and the owners were friendly and very knowledgable about the area. We got an AAA discount when we stayed there which made it even more affordable but the regular price there is not bad at all. You can use Taos as a base to do lots of days trips and then return to the Inn at night so a stay of several days would allow you to explore the area in depth. We would be happy to stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guilford104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

The hosts were invaluable with their expertise about the area and suggestions on what to do, that were as unique as the individual! I consider myself well traveled and their recommendations were far superior than any service I've encountered in four star hotels! The inn is cozy and quaint. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgocharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

Inn at the Rio is an incredibly quaint and colorful spot to relax and enjoy. Beautifully decorated and landscaped. Truly unique. Jules and Robert are wonderful hosts. Definitely a worthwhile experience.

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
Thank Kimb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.3 mi away
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
1.8 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Rio

Property: Inn on the Rio
Address: 910 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Rio Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing