We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and delicious breakfasts”
Review of Inn on the Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on the Rio
Ranked #13 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Comfortable and delicious breakfasts”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My friend and I spent two nights here and loved the colorful decor. Robert was helpful with dinner reservations after we looked thru a huge book of restaurants. He was very knowledgeable on all the dining choices and helped us narrow down our selection. The breakfast on both days consisted of one egg dish and Jules' homemade coffeecake along with fruit slices. Cereal and oatmeal are also available, but the egg dishes are not to be missed! We enjoyed soaking in the outdoor hot tub so remember to bring your swimsuit. The room and beds were comfortable and we enjoyed sitting outside on the colorful chairs by our door with a haybale for a table!

Room Tip: Some rooms are closer to the hot tub if that is important to you. Any room is just a short walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    40
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
38
96
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Jules and Robert are great hosts! This was our second time there and we will definitely be back! Very convenient to downtown and the rooms are comfortable! The Jacuzzi is fantastic! And Jules Bran muffins are incredible! The decor of the whole place just speaks TAOS! And Jules and Robert are a Guidebook of knowledge of things to do and see! Thank you both for making our experience that much better! We will see you again!

Room Tip: Just tell Jules and Robert how many you are and what you want. That should suffice. We were away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taosbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are looking for a laid back, comfortable and welcoming place to stay in Taos then Inn on the Rio is a great choice! We had a great one night stay on our way around Northern New Mexico...clean, convenient and with the right amount of kitch to make you smile. Old Taos flavor with the modern conveniences...it was a pleasure to stay and enjoy the friendly vibe with Robert Jules and Stormy. Will return one day!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently spent 2 relaxing nights at the Inn on the Rio. The colorful exterior drew us in and we're so glad we stopped. The room was charming and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting outside in the evenings after dinner and enjoying the birds. Close to the center of town, but with country peacefulness. Robert and Jules (and Stormy) are welcoming and have lots of great suggestions for things to do and places to see. Robert's dining suggestions are right on the money! The breakfasts were wonderful. Staying here was definitely one of the highlights of our 3 weeks in NM.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed with Robert and Jules over 15 years ago and took the opportunity to stay at the Inn on the Rio again on a recent trip to New Mexico. It's still just as relaxing and laid back as the first time and Jules' breakfast is still fantastic!

It's just like staying with old friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laycmom
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Inn on the Rio while traveling in New Mexico. Great time! Breakfast was delicious and the hot tub was wonderful. We stayed in one room with our two daughters and had enough room for all of us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laycmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent three nights at the Inn on the Rio. The décor is unique and original, the bed very comfortable, and the breakfasts were absolutely wonderful. Jules and Robert are natural innkeepers, and Jules' cooking will bring us back. Our room felt just a wee bit "snug," the wifi was somewhat slow, the pool was out-of-commission and the dirt drive dusty, or I'd have given an "excellent." All-in-all a great value that enhanced our stay in Taos. Try it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portfoliofotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.1 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Rio

Property: Inn on the Rio
Address: 910 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6444
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Inn on the Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Rio Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing