We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll Being Going Back Again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Rio
Ranked #12 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll Being Going Back Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Delightful accommodations. Relaxing setting. WONDERFUL breakfast. Innkeepers are a wealth of information for what to do, where to go for Taos and the area. We've been to the Inn twice and left each time looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    39
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
37
93
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Half historic motel and half B&B this property finds a nice medium by providing reasonably priced rooms with a B&B touch. Check in was a breeze as we walked in with no appointment but with open rooms during the Taos off season. We were shown a couple of options which were both unique and demonstrated the owners personal touch. The rooms are small motel rooms but the motif was fresh, the rooms were very clean, and the bedding was very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was a lite offering of fresh baked bread, muffins, egg entree and fruit; I say lite in regard to small but reasonable selection but all was plentiful and the egg skillet was great! Owners were polite, friendly, and knowledgable of the area which was nice. The house keeper was very friendly as she deligently worked to keep the fall leaves at bay with a friendly attitude that showed in her work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Inn on the Rio is beautiful, well located property in Taos with access to good restaurants, interesting cultural events and hiking. Breakfast was delicious and the room well decorated and quite comfortable. Innkeepers are great!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hueneme, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband, dog "Girl" and myself loved this spot. It was restful, quiet, and beautifully decorated. Robert and Jules were great hosts, along with their dog, "Stormy" who greated the guests at breakfast. Food was well prepared, including home made breads and jams. Conversations were colorful and engaging. Robert and Jules have created a very cozy environment for travelers to "take a break" from the open road. It sure prepared us for a long road trip home. Thanks, Janie, Paul, and Girl Knappenberger, Pt. Hueneme, California.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fountain co
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We've stayed several times at the inn but most recently was after a camping trip with our grandson. Robert and Jules were so accomodating, providing a place for our pop up and special off the menu chocolate chip pancakes for our grandson. (who feel in love with Stormy immediately). We started each day with a delicious breakfast. The grounds are beautiful with several relaxing spaces to enjoy. The rooms so cozy and the pool VERY refreshing!. Our grandson loved this trip so much he rated the extra night as the best part of his vacation. (and Stormy, of course!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camFountainCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our first trip to New Mexico and our stay at the inn felt just like home, only better as we were greeted with a hot cup of coffee and a delicious breakfast each morning.

Robert and Jules are great innkeepers who know how to make their guests feel comfortable and they have an outstanding knowledge of the area. Whether you are looking for sight seeing or a good restaurant, they will guide you in the right direction.

Give Stormy a belly rub from us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deerDeb360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We always enjoy our stay at Inn on the Rio, we try to get back as often as we can. Its like going home. Its a qiet hidaway, its a place to kick back and just relax, Jules, Robert and Stormy are just great. Jules does fantastic breakfasts. We have become fast friends and always enjoy getting together. Inn on the Rio is truely a great place to stay. We highly recommend it for those looking for something quite different from the usual other 'just hotels'. Kip and Janette

Room Tip: All the rooms are different western themes, each full of differnt treasures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.8 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Rio

Property: Inn on the Rio
Address: 910 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Rio Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing