We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best caprese salad.”

Farmhouse Cafe and Bakery
Ranked #29 of 129 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best caprese salad.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Dined for lunch and great food made up for very slow service. The caprese salad made with true heirloom tomatoes was as good as those in Italy. The mushroom quiche was awesome too. We enjoyed the setting overlooking a garden of flowers.
The next day I had gluten free pancakes and they were delicious. Service was extremely slow for breakfast too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pjshotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    27
    16
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food, lots of healthy options”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The food is delicious and fresh, though somewhat slow to come out, primarily because they make everything fresh and do not use a microwave. There are lots of gluten free and dairy free options. The food is fresh, local, and as organic as possible. The service is spotty - sometimes great, sometimes not so. Staff could likely use some additional training. They also do not take credit or debit cards, which suits me fine but can be difficult for some - though they apparently do take IOU's!

We keep going back for the food and the lovely setting, but it's not worth it if you are in a hurry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank birdingcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Out of control chef!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Wow, what an experience my mom and I had! We went for lunch around 1, we had heard a lot of negative things about this place from friends so we wanted to see for ourselves. We ordered our food while we were waiting we can hear the CHEF cursing, yelling at the staff very unprofessional I felt so bad for them I almost wanted to step in Our burgers finally came which were burnt and raw in the middle I didn't even bother to send them back because the atmosphere was so uncomfortable. I will never return to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Caleb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not special enough”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

While the ingredients are fabulous the preparation of them is not. Our dishes (breakfast) were overly seasoned, fancied-up, masking the natural goodness I'm sure was there. I wish they would trust in the deliciousness of their ingredients and quit trying to chef it up. Won't be returning any time soon.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mismei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst. Service. Ever.”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Having known about the cafe for a while and not given it a chance, I decided to give this cafe a try. I sat down and immediately place an order for the lamb Shepard's Pie. 20 minutes later, the server took my partner's order (wait, what?), and he wanted the meat lasagna. 30 minutes after he placed his order, the server came back and asked if he wanted meat or mushroom lasagna...his order hadn't even been placed. Another 30 minutes goes by and there was no sign of our orders anywhere.

We had been seated for 1hr and 20 mins, and the fact that our food STILL hadn't arrived had not even been addressed. Making one last ditch effort to give this place a shot, we got up and asked if we could just get our orders to go. The server told us that she was glad we came up because they were out of lamb...

Unbelievable. Needless to say, do not go here for any reason.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMcF1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmhouse Cafe and Bakery also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Farmhouse Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing