We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-ski breakfast”

Farmhouse Cafe and Bakery
Ranked #29 of 130 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pre-ski breakfast”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We found this place on our way to Taos Ski Valley in a beautiful setting with the mountains as backdrop. Adorable little place with a sculpture garden outside. We were drawn in by the gluten-free pancakes on the menu. Everything was delicious and fresh, plus attentive and friendly service. The rest of the menu for lunch looks great, too. We loved the photo exhibit of nature photos taken by 5th graders in their Garden Photo Club.

Helpful?
Thank nyfoodchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    27
    16
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
“great new place”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

hey this place just opened and its great, they just working thru their stuff but they gonna do a good job

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josh j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Croissants”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Best Croissants I ever had, including the Croissants I ate in Paris! I'm not kidding. Really cute earthy crunchy place. If you get the hot chocolate ask for double chocolate and then it's really good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great soups and really good baked goods!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stopped by for lunch and had the Mushroom Barley and also the Chicken Tortilla soups. They were excellent. Service was good with the place about half full with customers. We took home 2 loves of bread and an almond puff pastry (reallly goood!) which we have now eaten and they were excellent. We will definitely go back on other occasions and will stop by to get their loaf breads. We do wish they had other than just organic drinks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, gorgeous setting, spotty service”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is still a fairly new restaurant in the Taos area and clearly has some growing pains. When we arrived recently for lunch and were told to seat ourselves. About a half dozen tables were available, but all of them still had the crumbs, used napkins, etc. from previous diners. We ended up cleaning off our table ourselves. Our server was very friendly, but did not stay tuned into to what was happening with her tables.

The menu had a nice variety of local, vegetarian and organic options of soups, salads and sandwiches. We the roasted vegetable soup that was good but lacked any unique flavoring or spices. It would have been nice to have the option between a cup or a bowl, as the bowl was too large of a serving.

They have a large variety of pies, cakes and other enticing desserts, although they did not have them on a printed menu. Instead the server rattled off a bewilderingly long list of options.

The restaurant is in a gorgeous setting overlooking the Taos mountain range. However, it's tucked away in a small plaza off a very busy road. If you don't know it's there, you can easily miss it. The prices are also a bit higher than what you pay for a similar quality menu in downtown Taos.

I hope this place succeeds, because the owner has clearly has put her passion into the food. But the dining experience needs development, especially with the service. The hours are also limited, so don't try to catch a late lunch there, as they close at 3:00pm.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr and Mrs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmhouse Cafe and Bakery also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Farmhouse Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing