We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Casa Continental - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old Casa Continental
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We ate in the nice front dining room with a secluded round booth and fireplace. Food was excellent and service was good. My husband really enjoyed the beef stroganoff and I thoroughly enjoyed the cod in a sundried tomato and caper sauce. Rolls were hot and very good. French onion soup was wonderful. The only minus I can see is the limited menu options. They should state on their web page that they also have daily specials. We almost didn't go there because I had looked up the menu online and didn't really see anything I wanted in the entree section. But we decided to try it anyway and were very pleasantly surprised. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You should try this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is a little south of town (in the former Damon's). The decor is lovely and gentle music was playing. The service was excellent. The food was spectacular. The escargot were yummy. The rolls were hot. All of us really enjoyed our entrees- the veal Oscar was delicious. The cod in lemon caper sauce was wonderful. Two people had the special---shrimp and scallops in a lobster cream sauce in a puff pastry. It was very good. The only thing I would change would be an optional side of vegetables. The desserts sounded excellent but we were stuffed (and we had leftovers). You really should give this place a try. We intend to go back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a sweet surprise this is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I didn’t live in Taos during this chef’s original incarnation, but I frequented his ABQ version, Café Miche, for years. Casa Continental is a wonderful Euro-centric, comfortable and affordable restaurant featuring both hard to find and traditional dishes. The Chow-Chow, similar to a Thai yellow curry, is fantastic. You won’t find better escargots this side of the Atlantic. Yummy Stroganoff, tender veal, dangerous desserts. Everything is so flavorful. This is obviously a labor of love!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bumpasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great meal and great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had New year's eve dinner here. We knew the chef and maitre'd from the original Casa Cordova years ago so we knew the food would be excellent which it was but we were really pleased with the prices! Everything from a glass of wine to the wonderful French onion soup right down to the exquisite chocolate mousse is very fairly priced - so nice to have a good meal and no "I overspent' hangover!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Casa Continental also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing