We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bad experience.”
Review of Martyrs Steakhouse

Martyrs Steakhouse
Ranked #31 of 131 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Martyrs Lane
Description: Fine Dining Taos Style! We offer a wonderful selection of organic meats, locally grown salads, custom made desserts, and much more! Patio seating available. Large parties. Private party building. Catering. Dog Friendly Patio
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I both ordered Filet Mignon steaks, they were perfectly cooked and served with the most delicious vegetables I've ever eaten. The problem came with the bill, we were charged for a bottle of wine when I only had a glass. When it was brought to the attention of the waitress she apologized but did not appear to be the least bit surprised.

Thank jsquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rik B, General Manager at Martyrs Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your review, but disappointed that you feel like your server didn't seem to take into consideration his/her mistake. We encourage all of our staff to be kind and forthcoming in situations such as these. Please visit us again and let us buy you one of our delicious desserts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 357 of 381 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I visited the Martyrs Steakhouse for the first time last week and were very impressed. The decor is wonderful as was the service and meal. A little pricey but well worth it. It's our new "Special Occasion" place to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rik B, General Manager at Martyrs Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

We love that Martyrs is your "new favorite"- and we look forward to serving you on your next special occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A beautiful room matched by well-presented and beautifully prepared food. The salmon was as good as anything I've had, and the NY strip was first rate. The sides were gorgeous, too. Finally finished with flourless chocolate cake which compares to any I've ever had. What I really like about the menus was that there were a wide variety of offerings and price points. Much recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rik B, General Manager at Martyrs Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review. We love our decor, staff, and menu and we are glad you do too. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food is first rate and the staff is outstanding! We stopped in for happy hour and came back the next night for a wond4rful dinner. Do yourself a favor - go there!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rik B, General Manager at Martyrs Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your stellar review. We love our Happy Hour and offer is 7 days a week. Our staff is amazing. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great facility--well laid out and very convenient. The staff was one of the most attentive and efficient we have seen for a long time--and yet, we never felt rushed or over-served (everyone seemed to be totally attentive and looking for a positive way to make the dining experience memorable).

Our entrees, on the other hand, while good were not at the same high level. My wife had the chicken which she found to be dry, and I had the beef stroganoff which had a flavorful sauce but would have been better with some sour cream to thicken it. Perhaps the pricier choices would have been more up to our expectation, but we were both looking forward to the dishes we ordered.

Thank SW_CXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rik B, General Manager at Martyrs Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We apologize that your Beef Stroganoff and Chicken were not to your liking. Now that we have a wonderful new Executive Chef, we would love to encourage you to try the chicken as it is succulent and well prepared. Thank you for your visit and review. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martyrs Steakhouse also viewed

Taos, Taos County
Taos, Taos County
 
El Prado, Taos
 

Been to Martyrs Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing