We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“#13?????” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mosaic Fine Dining - CLOSED

Mosaic Fine Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
379 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“#13?????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had travelled from Monticello UT by motorcycle and were ready for a "splurge" night. As noted by other reviewers, this restaurant is located in the Hotel La Fonda de Taos. It's décor is simply lovely. We loved the step up tables that are set under sky lights, but were too chicken to try to get into them. Our server was a very nice young man, who was spot on his game. He offered the bar menu as well as the regular menu. The smoked brisket sandwiches sounded so good that we said sure! The first offering was a delightful southwestern corn relish pate to tease our palates. Then came our Caesar salads with polenta croutons. The atmosphere was convivial and we had a nice conversation with other patrons on motorcycles...a Londoner on a Harley on tour with friends in performance cars. Then came our brisket sandwiches-outstanding. We broke down and had the pineapple upside down cake with handmade cinnamon ice cream. We were so happy with this meal and our service. Just how can this be rated as number 13 in Taos??? Thirteen was lucky for us this evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Goldwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    21
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Truly Exceptional Dinning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I had a delightful dinning experience here. Although there were many tempting items on the menu we both ordered the Vegetarian Mosaic. The polenta cake with harissa sauce was simply to die for. We ordered an additional side of the lentil pecan pate because we enjoyed it so much, and the sourness of the pickled veges added another tasty dimension of this exceptional plate. The atmosphere is pleasant, the staff friendly and attentive. If you're in Taos, don't pass Mosaic up!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Running_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Mosaic Restaurant is in the historic La Fonda Hotel right on the square in Taos. The interior of the hotel is "parkitecture" at its finest and a treat to look at. The service was wonderful and the REAL Chile Con Carne (no beans) was the best I have ever eaten. The home-made lemonade was perfecto. A thoroughly wonderful lunch/

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank REED E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing dining at altitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We turned up in Taos, New Mexico (higher than Denver, we learned), on our road trip through the southwest not knowing where we were going to stay or where we were going to eat. We found our way to the Plaza and checked into the Hotel La Fonda. Mosaic Fine Dining was imbedded within the hotel and we gave it a shot. It was an amazing experience. Chef George Bartel is a master. It's obvious he loves to cook and knows how to put tastes and flavors together. He came out to chat to us after our meal. We don't always write reviews, but when we experience something as special as this (we went back the next day and had lunch there), we make the effort to do so.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ_Penzance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our first time visit to a relatively new restaurant in Taos. We had a party of 6 and sampled everything from the pasta special with 4 huge scallops, to the duck breast and the steak. No one had a bad word to say. My favorite of the evening was the PEI mussel appetizer. Although listed as an appetizer it could easily be a light meal. The staff was friendly and attentive and the service was excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zydecolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic Fine Dining also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing