We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Tamale!”
Review of Guadalajara Grill

Guadalajara Grill
Ranked #29 of 129 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Southlake, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hot Tamale!”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Great combination of Old Mexico and New Mexico cuisines. For example, the shrimp and rice dishes (Old Mexico) had the great flavor of New Mexico chile sauces expertly cooked in.

It was fun ordering from the counter and being served by bus-boys wearing white caps. The people watching was splendid with a mix of locals and visitors all checking each other out.

Ignore the lack of drive-up appeal.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peripatetic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    141
    53
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good good, good price”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The guacamole is awesome. Had the quesadillas azteca so yummy and the burrito plate. My fiancee had the carnitas which he enjoyed as well. I would not recommend the taco salad which I had today because its not really a taco salad and the beef isn't very good. It was chips instead of a taco shell. If you have a choice of meat the chicken its great. The service is fantastic and overall its a great value. You should definitely eat here. Hope this was helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xena_warrior_maurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great quesadilla!!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Best I ever had! (The Azteca) enough said. Try it and try their fresh drinks as well. Like the Agua Frescas excellent Horchata and Jamaica.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dhanai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque Metro Area, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Busy place”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is really a take out kind of place. You place your order at the window and then they bring it to you. It is pretty noisy. The food was good, but I'm not sure it was 12 per entree good. Keep in mind that it is traditional Mexican, not New Mexican. So, the green chile was not very good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank NM_Travel_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“they are serious about the food”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

thisnis a good restaurant for good food, fast and friendly service, and good prices. my wife and I had been traveling all day and wanted to eat something before we went to our house and went to sleep. She had the special and it was great. they recommended the chicken enchaladas with red chilies for me and it was also very good. good prices, and they were very friendly to us. it was late, (they close at 9:00PM in the winter), and it could not have been much better for us. Cafeteria style, extensive menu.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guadalajara Grill also viewed

Taos, Taos County
Ranchos De Taos, Taos
 

Been to Guadalajara Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing