We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Tex Mex”
Review of Alley Cantina

Alley Cantina
Ranked #23 of 128 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average Tex Mex”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just off the Plaza down an alley - hence the name. Don't sit outside if you don't like smoke pollution. For lunch had nachos with chicken, mostly mundane and soggy but heaping plate which I could not finish. First glass of iced tea is $2.50 and rfills come in pitcher for which they charge $3.00 each. Unusual as normally free refills. Was not informed of this little extra! There are better places to eat in Taos.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barryjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    134
    65
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance, Food Mediocre - So Just Go For A Drink!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This restaurant is in the corner of the extra shopping space right behind the Taos Plaza. The ambiance is fantastic inside and the outside seating area is also very nice, just hot in the summer. The Alley Cantina's claim to fame is that the building that houses the restaurant and bar is the oldest building in Taos. Really all that remains of the building that was built in the 16th century is the south wall of the kitchen and the east wall of the kitchen and bathrooms. My husband and I shared a green chili burger and an order of chips and spicy salsa. The chips were stale, but the salsa was spicy and very good! The hamburger was OK, but not inspired. So eat if you want, but definitely go for a drink and enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was hoping for a revisit to El Patio that was there many years ago ... My dinner was not good. Some of our family said their quesadillas were very good. Pricey for no atmosphere. Sat on patio & unfortunately had to endure smokers.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very happy!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Husband and I stopped in on a Friday for lunch. Ate outside. Service was friendly and quick. I had the appetizer quesadilla, which was huge and delicious! My husband had the Philly wrap, also huge and delicious. Prices were reasonable, and the atmosphere was casual and pleasant. Dog friendly like the rest of Taos. One couple came in with their dog, and the waitress brought the dog a bowl of icewater. Locals told us they have the best Happy Hour in Taos! It wasn't happy hour, but I did have the Jeremiah Weed Sweet Tea Whiskey and Soda. Delicious and strong!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCoveredDish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good for a quick bite”
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We sat outside which was very pleasant. Enjoyed the cheese enchiladas. Beans were not very warm and cole slaw was not fresh. I'd stick with the southwest cuisine. It is definitely a bar atmosphere inside, which is fine to enjoy a drink with friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alley Cantina also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Alley Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing