We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Byzantium

Byzantium
Ranked #50 of 129 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a must try. Overall the experience was great. The owner/host/chef has been here for over 20 years! He literally has seven tables and only wants to be able to serve that many. He wants one turn it seems, as he appreciates it when you sit and spend an hour and half or two in his restaurant.
The food quality was exceptional. The menu & wine list are minimal, but the Pinot we had was a great wine. My only complaint was my chicken was slightly over cooked, but the flavor was really good. My fiancée loved his pork chop. You have to get the kraut. It is authentic & de-Li-cious!

You won't be disappointed if you go in with the right frame of mind.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cparker1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    16
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly place to eat”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We ate here two nights running on our trip to Taos, which tells you something to begin with. On both nights the food was excellent and very nicely presented and the proprietor was very pleased to see us come back for the second evening. The restaurant is small with just seven tables and is run by the proprietor and his chef. The proprietor is very friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. Being a very small place, the food doesn't come too quickly but that helps give a relaxed feel to the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henobarbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Byzantium is a jewel”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

There are only about 8 tables in a jewel like room with flickering chandeliers and eclectic tables and chairs. We had a warm pear salad with a bacon vinaigrette and freshly baked bread like I've never experienced before. So delicious. The sautéed chicken over garlic mashed potatoes was excellent as was my husband's steak and shrimp dinner. Service was attentive, and very friendly. I can't wait to go there again. A small menu but everything, and I mean everything, is cooked perfectly and presented beautifully. Reasonable prices too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Esther010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Taos in a flash”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was outstanding. Cooked to order - perfect Atmosphere perfect for a a slow deliverers dinner for two Everything was delicious a d perfectly prepared Would recommend to all!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryL632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Fantastic meal, service and environment!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant last week while in Taos for spring break. The evening was fantastic with delicious bread, wine, warm goat cheese salad and mussels. Our teenage sons also loved the place. The owner was hands on and so attentive to our needs. Overall is was fantastic!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marybethcipoletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byzantium also viewed

 
El Prado, Taos
 

Been to Byzantium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing