We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byzantium

Byzantium
Ranked #47 of 125 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Nice place in Taos to eat. If the owner is there - he is open - Great food

Helpful?
Thank Piggie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    16
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hico, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best dining experiences we've had in all our travels.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband and I had spent the evening strolling in downtown Taos and just happened to find the Byzantium much to our delight. The warm glow and wonderful aromas greeted us as we entered. The decor is dark, cozy and a bit on the gothic side which is very cool. Our waiter who turned out to be the owner was charming and welcoming. The food was incredible from homemade bread and marmalade, steamed mussels, fresh salad, trout and chicken. Everything was prepared to perfection. We travel the world extensively and this is one of the first reviews I've felt compelled to write due to our unexpected wonderful experience here. Reservations are definitely recommended because it is a small, intimate dining room. A definite gem to visit while in Taos.
Harold

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Byzantium is a wonderful small restaurant within easy walking distance of the plaza in one direction and the Harwood Museum in the other. The menu is limited and includes chicken, surf and turf, pork and 2 fish entrees along with some wonderful salads for starters. I had the seared Ahi tuna served with pickled vegetables and rice. My friend had the ruby trout. We shared a goat cheese and arugula salad. All our food was excellent. Wine and beer are available and I had a glass of wine. Again the selection is limited but very good nonetheless. The owner also works as the server and makes sure that guests are well taken care of, but not rushed. I was there in off season so don't know how busy it would be during the summer.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another wonderful dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

My wife and I made a spontaneous overnight trip to Taos in mid Feb and forgot to get reservations at the restaurant we had in mind for dinner so we remembered the great meal we had at Byzantium last year will staying in Taos. We dropped in early and there was room and the restaurant was warm, inviting, and smelled wonderful. Both my wife and I were on a diet and the owner put together dishes that kept us honest and provided another wonderful dinning experience at Byzantium.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
196 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“The Perfect Way To Start Off Our Taos Vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were incredibly happy to have discovered Byzantium through a very positive restaurant review in our local Albuquerque newspaper the week before we headed up there. It turned out to be the perfect way to start off our latest Taos vacation!
I would first say that this is a small restaurant and quite popular from the looks of it. I'd definitely suggest making reservations, as you don't want to miss this jewel of a place. The menu is on the small side, but diverse enough for most palates. My husband and I both started our meals with the mixed greens salad with candied pecans, a light champagne vinaigrette and topped with a round of seasoned, mild goat cheese. The combination was fantastic! I had the Shrimp & Polenta with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce and loved every bite of it. My husband had one of the house specialties, Grilled Pork Tenderloin with a sauce /compote that was so delicious that he would only share one small bite of it with me. He raved about his dinner for days afterwards.
The owner, Skot Kirshbaum, was the epitome of low-key Taos graciousness. He not only helped us choose the best wines for each of our dinners but, great guy that he is, recommended 2 more restaurants for us to try, as well. We did the next day and both were lovely. Thank you Skot! In closing both my husband and I agree that all our future trips to Taos have to include at least one dinner at Byzantium. This truly is one of Taos' special jewels!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LynninNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byzantium also viewed

 
El Prado, Taos
 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Byzantium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing