We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast food nirvana”
Review of Mante's Chowcart

Mante's Chowcart
Ranked #59 of 128 Restaurants in Taos
Restaurant details
Loreto, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fast food nirvana”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We went to Mante's on the recommendation of a local burrito Sherpa and ordered the Trujillo burrito. How this burrito could be improved on is a mystery to me. Anyone complaining about the Trujillo does not understand what a burrito should be. Just go there, get a Trujillo, and wallow in your discovery. You're welcome.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rich034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value good food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It is worth it to try this little hole in the wall....tip try the frito pie deluxe it is quite good and a great value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
363 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great chorizo breakfast burrito”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

One of my favorite breakfasts in Taos is the Chowcart's breakfast burrito with chorizo. Yes, it's greasy, but it's big and filling. East this and you won't have to eat again for hours!

I don't think the prices are bad here (and I'm cheap). Everything I've ever ordered and anything I've ever seen a friend order has provided a huge amount of food for seven or eight bucks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blaize S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
459 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Hopes not fulfilled”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were excited to eat something that is typical of the area, so we were told to get Trujillo. Although a fast-food-type place, the prices were high. Nevertheless, we stayed and hoped that the food would be worth the price. It did not. The price and the quality caused us to regret our visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way Disappointed”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Were happy Mantes was open late but had less than average food. Not good enough for us to want to go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tatbear-tatcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mante's Chowcart also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Mante's Chowcart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing