We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.”
Review of Ricky's Restaurant

Ricky's Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 129 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Harrisburg, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Authentic New Mexican food, reasonably priced, relaxed. I could eat there every night!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great local place”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I came here based on a recommendation from my hotel check-in agent. The food was tasty, the service was friendly and prompt and my whole meal was around $7. I definitely would come back next time I'm in Taos.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank utl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Because most restaurants were closed on a Sunday night, we discovered Ricky's!”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We have recently returned from a wonderfuly vacation in Albuquerque, Taos, and Santa Fe, New Mexico. On a Sunday night in Taos the recommended restaurants we hoped to enjoy were all closed. As we were driving back to our hotel we passed a small, dimly lit cafe at the side of the road two and a half blocks south of the Plaza. We were hungry and decided to give it a try. We were so happy that we stopped!! Ricky's provided us with a truly memorable New Mexican meal, with all the delicious spices and seasonings we had learned to love, and with the kindest 'customer service' oriented staff that we encountered on our journey. This Sunday night dinner was a memorable part of our trip and we were so lucky to have found it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kranney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good red chile”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It would be a crime to leave New Mexico and not get some decent red chile and it seemed like Taos was going to be our last opportunity. The best places are going to be some hole in the wall with the whole family working. Ricky's was close to that vibe. Making really good red chile is an art form and theirs was very good. In fact the chile was better by itself, with only a tortilla and some cheese than it was as the embellishment to the chile relleno. If you ask a Mexicano where to get the best red chile most will answer "en mí casa" (at my house). This may not be that but it's close enough.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tx834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unless you need a giggle, avoid Rickys.”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We were in a hurry to get to Santa Fe, but were ready for dinner. Rickys was among the only places open on Sunday evening, and looked amusing enough. The staff, two older women who could be sisters, was amusing. They were clearly proud of their new window air conditioner, which they had sitting on top of a beverage cooler. Fully inside the restaurant. They seemed surprised that it wasn't cooling the place off! The menu is par-for-the-course: NM cafe food. We both had green chili cheeseburgers. The beef was lousy, the chili was thick with roux and little actual chili taste. The fries tasted of the rancid oil they had been cooked in. A fine place to take a picture, if you, like me, enjoy the look of places like this. But don't order food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ricky's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ricky's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing