We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Best Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taos Diner

Taos Diner
Ranked #14 of 121 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Cafe, Diner, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We went here for breakfast on a day trip from Santa Fe and the breakfast was wonderful. Diner atmosphere, great food, great prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thetravelteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    84
    19
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsburg GA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great local diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you are looking for ambiance, go somewhere else and pay $15 for breakfast. But if you want good, fresh, wholesome and plentiful food stop at the Taos Diner. We had a late breakfast. We were told to "Sit where you like." The server was there immediately. She offered great suggestions at our request. She was efficient and friendly. In fact, we had a few good laughs about a shared experience of purchasing chili from Carlito in Chimayo. I had the breakfast burrito and a salad. The server had cautioned me that it would be too much and she was right. The burrito covered the plate. I couldn't finish it. The salad was so fresh that I could have sworn the veggies came directly from the garden. It isn't often you can rave over a simple garden salad, but I'm recommending it because of the incredible freshness. My husband proclaimed the chili rellenos the best.

If we are ever in Taos again, we'll go back to the Taos Diner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peerke_and_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
143 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice lunch at the Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Enjoyed the fresh food at the diner. Had enchiladas that were very good and very homemade. My wife had a burger which was good. Inside looks like a classic diner, nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. Would certainly eat here again when I visit Taos.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A2Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We attended a fund raiser that was held at the Diner. The food was mediocre at best, the service was good, and we appreciated that the Diner would host such an event. However, the quality of the food was such that we never returned.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classic, yet Fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We loved our visit to Taos Diner. It's that classic diner feeling & look that feels comfortable, American, & nostalgic - yet the offering of locally roasted coffee beans & organic fare is modern & suggests that they "care". There were many amazing-sounding things on the menu, but we kept it simple with that beautiful coffee, organic eggs, and perfectly cooked bacon. We will be back! I'm ready to go right now!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 10Fishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Diner also viewed

 

Been to Taos Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing